Stroll in The Garden and The Lost Snake

in STEEMIT PAKISTAN2 years ago (edited)

IMG_20220626_193028.jpg

I always wish for a home with a view. Fortunately, I have always had that beautiful scenery just a wall away which calms my mind and heart.

However, I was able to have a proper garden only once. That's why the favorite place at my parents' home is their garden. They both love to take care of their plants and keep on adding new varieties of flowers, fruits, and vegetables to their collection.

Today my mom and dad happily showed me around their garden, telling me about their different plants as I can't distinguish much.

I thought to share the fruit trees with you here. Come and have a stroll with me.


Grape Vines

These are the grape vines which I believe I showed in one of my recent posts as well. These are 24 feet tall approximately, snaking around the railing of the upper portion.

The grape vines can live up to 70 years on average and the oldest grapevine ever lived was 400 years old.
source

There are plenty of bunches hidden all over inside the vines. I was scared to go under it so I took a picture from the top. The reason why I was scared is another story that I will share at the end of this post.


Found a bunch at the top - picture taken from terrace

These grapes will be ready to eat in a couple of days. They are a little sour and less juicy at the moment.


Pomegranate

Let's move to the next fruit. Here we have a pomegranate tree. It doesn't have anything on it yet. It will start bearing fruits in the coming months and they will be ready to eat near the winter.

Pomegranate is one of my favorite fruit due to it's nutritional value and refreshing taste.


Phalsa

This is the phalsa plant or black currant. It is delicious summer fruit commonly found in Pakistan. This plant just stopped bearing the fruit. A few days before my arrival, my family ate the last of the fruits that this plant bore.


There are three mango trees in the garden. The two big trees didn't bear fruit this season. However, this strange little tree or better-called plant has a few almost riped mangoes. I'm not sure why bricks are placed here, perhaps for support as the plant is really fragile.

IMG_20220626_175752.jpg

Mangoes

Mangoes are considered King of Fruits in Pakistan. I don't support this notion though. XD
I like to eat mangoes but am not overly crazy about them as most people in Pakistan.


This is my favorite Chinese Lemon tree. I love these lemons, despite their tiny size, they are extremely juicy. I had a tree of it in my garden as well and we use to pick hundreds of lemons all year long.

IMG_20220626_175916.jpg

Chinese Lemon

As you can see, flowers are blooming on this tree, soon it will start bearing the lemons as well.


Apricot
Chickoo/ Sapodilla

These are the new additions to the garden. I'm not much of a fan of these fruits but mom loves these. They will bear fruit probably next season.


It doesn't need an introduction as you can see a closeup of two cute guavas. There are plenty of guavas hanging on the tree. Tell me if you can spot more.

Guava tree

These guavas are from Larkana - a city in Interior Sindh. The specialty of these guavas is that they are chunky and very sweet. Another favorite fruit from the garden. 🙂


There are some more trees like that of Figs and Sweet Limes but all are newly planted so don't have fruits yet.

Now the reason why I was scared to go near the vines?

Three days ago, we saw a snake in the area shown below in the picture.

IMG_20220626_194811.jpg

It's bad that there was a snake in the home and even worse that we lost it. We tried everything to kill it but it just vanished near the tree. We tried lighting fire and destroying many plants as a result, we tried spraying insecticide as well but the snake just vanished.

I'm now scared to go near the vines because it is said that snakes can easily crawl up them.

IMG_20220626_194524.jpg

In the evening today, we tried burning a herb in the fire which is supposed to repel the snakes. I'm sure the snake has already gone but we just want to make sure that the house and garden are kids-friendly.


That's it for today's garden story.

Sort:  

Today my mom and dad happily showed me around their garden, telling about their different plants as I can't distinguish much.

I always find that very wonderful! I love garden rounds! Wherever I visit, I let them show and explain the garden to me. This usually gives me lots of tips and new insights.
And of course I also like to show my visitors my garden :-)

Pomegranate ... mango trees ... Lemon tree ... Guava tree

These are plants that I would not find in any garden here. At most in the botanical garden :-) But there are already vines here... even in Northern Germany :-)

we just want to make sure that house and garden is kids friendly.

Well, I wouldn't want to have a snake in the garden either. Our native snakes are usually not dangerous, but that would still disturb the fun of playing for the children considerably...

 2 years ago 

And of course I also like to show my visitors my garden :-)

I had a garden once and I also couldn't wait to show it whenever I had guests over. I hired a gardener as well because my knowledge of gardening is very limited and it was a huge piece of land which I couldn't possibly manage alone with a newborn in home at that time.

These are plants that I would not find in any garden here.

These plants are very common in our region. I wish we could grow avocados and berries as well.

Well, I wouldn't want to have a snake in the garden either. Our native snakes are usually not dangerous, but that would still disturb the fun of playing for the children considerably...

I didn't let my kids go out for few days but I guess the fear is fading. Here snakes are very poisonous usually. We installed an extra door yesterday with no gaps for extra precautions.

my knowledge of gardening is very limited

My knowledge too! I try out a lot of things and am happy when it works. And if it doesn't, it doesn't matter :-)

Here snakes are very poisonous usually. We installed an extra door yesterday with no gaps for extra precautions.

That's probably exactly what I would have also done. Better safe than sorry!

 2 years ago 

Thankyou for Posting in Steemit Pakistan.

CheckAction
#Club75
Burn Steem 25
Steemexclusive
Number Of Words744
Number Of Upvotes47
Number Of Comments3
 2 years ago 

Wow wonderful ❤️ MashAllah, I always want a big garden in my home and want to grow different plants and veges

 2 years ago 

Gardening can be a very interesting hobby that I think to adopt in my old age..🤣

 2 years ago 

Hahaha yes it's interesting but if you like it you can adopt it now too😆

 2 years ago 

Right now I don't have time for this and most importantly a garden. 🤣

 2 years ago 

Point 😂

 2 years ago 

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator07.

Curated By - @nahela
Curation Team - The7up

 2 years ago 

Thank you dear @nahela for stopping by.

I didn't think Pakistan was such a fertile country. It looks lush and healthy what grows there.

What kind of snakes do you have? Do Kraits live there? Then I would also be discreetly unsettled...

Ich dachte nicht, daß Pakistan so ein fruchtbares Land ist. Es sieht üppig und gesund aus, was da wächst.

Was gibt es für Schlangen bei Euch? Leben dort Kraits? Dann wäre ich auch dezent verunsichert...

 2 years ago 

We have a generally fertile land and most people are into agriculture.

Yes, Kraits are said to be found here but I'm not sure if I have seen personally. On few occasions that I encountered a snake, two times it was King Cobra.

That's tricky with the children in house. And you can't relax, too. May be there are special hunters for?

 2 years ago 

MashaAllah, it's so relaxing to have plants in your backyard, jab chaha thora time spent kiya greenery mein aur mind fresh

 2 years ago 

Exactly that's why I love home gardens.

It is truly a pleasure to look at the variety of exotic plants and fruits in your parents' garden - none of which grow naturally in our latitudes.

I would have found the snake incredibly interesting. I'm sure your children would too. Don't scare them, otherwise they will lose their childlike, open-minded desire to explore nature... ;-)

 2 years ago 

Kids were very much interested to find the snake themselves.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98