So... you're into CRYPTO? My Experience with Bitcoin

in Silver Gold Stackers3 years ago (edited)

Back in May 2017, a stacker-friend, ThinkVesting, started to go heavy on Bitcoin and excitedly told me about it. And every opportunity he had, he would sort of convince me to join him in the "dark side". Yeah, that's what we call stackers who are into cryptos. We went back and forth: Him- convincing me that it is a good investment, and Me- telling him that I have reservations about buying in Bitcoin.

Investing in Bitcoin

Long-story-short, by July 2017 I agreed to buy Bitcoin.

Let me qualify that... I agreed to buy Bitcoin and hold it for a short period. Well, it was also for the $5.00 rebate that he and I would get from Coinbase.

I remember ThinkVesting was on the other line, while he walked me through opening my account at Coinbase. He was expecting me to buy a quarter of a Bitcoin.

A week to my birthday, I bought one Bitcoin for $2,718. I was not into crypto and I don't know what I was doing. All I know is that I trusted him. I left it as is, checking Coinbase only once.

It was the end of October 2017 when ! ! !BOOM! ! ! ... I noticed that I had over $10,000 in my wallet!

OMG!!! I was seriously scared! I was thinking... "Is this for real! This cannot be!"

I called ThinkVesting.

Divesting before the decline

There is a time difference between ThinkVesting and myself, and I remember eagerly waiting till 2 PM so that I can call him. It was 6 AM where he was.

ThinkVesting was surprised that I purchase one Bitcoin! I ask him if what I was seeing in my account was true. He laughed. You see he has been mining the stuff and nothing about Bitcoin was new to him!

Yadi-ya, long-story-short, I told him I want out. He said it is up to me, after all, I made over $7,500 in a very short period of time anyway. I was so nervous!

So I did! The transaction went very well, the payment was in my wallet the next day, then I moved it to my checking account. I left a minuscule amount, and some converted into Etherium (... all very tiny).

Where did the money go

I just bought my then-new house, so I immediately paid down my new house by $6,000.

The rest of the money, well....

I bought my first one-ounce gold!

2006 American Buffalo 1 oz Gold Proof Coin



For the first U.S. Mint Gold coins struck with .9999 fine Gold, the mint chose to use the famous designs of the 1913 Buffalo Nickel, also known as the Indian Head nickel, as inspiration. These 1 oz Gold coins have a $50 face value as guaranteed U.S. legal tender, but their true value is based on the Gold spot price, which makes these Gold coins many times more valuable. The 2006 Gold coins are from the first year of production of these prized Gold coins. The America Buffalo Gold coins have undeniable value and one can also enjoy the beauty of the classic Buffalo Nickel design. Source: Apmex

I paid $1,342 for it then, and today it is worth $2,035!

Not bad for investment.


Is it time?

With my first-hand positive experience with Bitcoin, don't you think it is time once again to invest? I'll be starting from zero (well not really, but it might as well be zero).

Which crypto do you think it will be?




I am not a financial adviser. This article is not meant to be financial advice. My articles on cryptos and precious metals share my personal opinion, experiences, and general information on cryptos precious metals.

Best Regards,

@silversaver888


😍 #ilikeitalot!😍

All photos, gif, and video were taken by me with my iPhone6.

Thank you for stopping by to view this article.

I post an article daily, and I hope to see you again soon!

Hugs and Kisses 🥰🌺🤙!!!!

This original post of @silversaver888 was first published here.

Sort:  

The Gold American buffalo is one of Liz's Favorite coins @silversaver888!😀
She made the comment the other day, " What if we had bought BTC in the beginning, just think!😇"
Back then I talked to the owners of one of our LCS's, and he was dead set against crypto....So I waited...
Look how things have come full circle my friend!😍😍😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59131.70
ETH 2599.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40