Silver Pickups from a Pawnshop

in Silver Gold Stackers4 years ago

When the United States Mint issued its first coins in 1792, early strikes were done in either copper or a mixture of silver and copper for certain denominations. From 1794 to 1836, most denominations under $1 (USD) that the US Mint issued have 89.2% silver content and 10.8% copper content. The inclusion of copper gave the coins durability to better resist wear and tear from handling.

In 1836, silver content in American coins began to change with the introduction of the Seated Liberty design on the dime, quarter, half dollar, and dollar. The US Mint transitioned to a steady 90% silver, 10% copper mix. The US would continue to use this metallic mixture in its silver denominations until 1964.


J.F.Kennedy and B.Franklin Half Dollars





Pre-1965 90% Silver coins, sometimes referred to as junk Silver or scrap Silver, are a great way to start a Silver investments. These Silver coins were pulled from circulation with the introduction of copper/nickel clad coins and the rising demand of Silver. The public saved them for their 90% Silver content as a rainy day fund they can fall back on.


1957 Benjamin Franklin Silver Half Dollar





1964 Jack F. Kennedy Silver Half Dollar





1949 Benjamin Frankin Silver Half Dollar




I pick up US Constitutional coins as often as possible. As I was on vacation most of December 2020, and it was not until January of this year that I could drop by the pawnshop where I got these coins. Ever so often they have US Constitutional Silver.



Unfortunately they only had these pieces. I bought them for $7.99 which is about the most expensive of US Constitutional coins I got! The last time I was there, I pickup a full five dollars face value!


But one or two or three coins, they are so worth the trip!



All photos, gif and videos were taken by me using my iPhone6 unless specified otherwise.

😍 #ilikeitalot!😍



Make it an awesome day!

Thank you for stopping by to view this article. I post an article daily, and I hope to see you again soon!


Hugs and Kisses 🥰🌺🤙!!!!

@silversaver888


This original article by @silversaver888 was first published here.

Sort:  

I never thought about looking at pawn shops @silversaver888... It sounds like they know what they have, but awesome that you found these my friend!!😍😍😀

Yes! Go check them out!

I will do that my friend!😍😍😀

pawnshop is really a great place to look for pm

You betcha!!!
Good to see you, my friend!

Never looked there, I'll give it a try...who knows, might find treasure.

♡♡♡♡♡

I discovered them last year!

I've used them for tools, but I never looked at the silver. I'll have to wait, there us 10 inches of snow out there right now.

:)>

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66331.68
ETH 2720.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87