Taking Concepts vs. Rote Memorization || Grade Boosting Tricks || My Notes Making Habbits || My Observations

in Steem Nations11 hours ago

Hi everyone!

I hope you all are doing well and are in good health. Today, i come up with a very important topic that I have observed during my student life "Taking Concepts vs. Rote Memorization." I will talk about how I transitioned from relying on lecture pictures to focusing on note taking, and the educational drawbacks I encountered , and some key habbits for good grades

image.png

Rote Memorization


What Is Rote Memorization ?


Rote memorization is the process of memorizing information based on repetition study shows this type of learning may not prepare students for higher education, and it does not usually build important knowledge because the information no longer saved and stay in the brain until and unless you keep learning them

Basic Buildings

It all starts with the basic building blocks of learning and memorization, and I believe the school system plays an important role in this. As children understanding concepts is challenging so the educational system tends to rely on rote memorization for younger students. This approach is not problematic for young children around 4 to 6 years old.
but when we progress to higher grades. We find ourselves heavily dependent on rote memorization sticking strictly to schoolwork and class notes. I have observed this pattern not only in my own school but also across other institutions. Up until our board exams, many students adhere to this rote learning method which seems to be a common practice.

image.png

Taking Concepts And Notes Making Habbits

I was a rote memorization learner for a long time, but I began facing challenges when my board exams approached. It made me realize the importance of truly understanding concepts. Although I was trying to grasp concepts I often ended up writing the same exact wording in my exams as I had in my notes. This realization highlighted the need for a deeper understanding rather than just memorizing information.

My Notes Making Habbits


University is where everything revolves around lectures. When I started university, I began making my own notes because professors mainly focused on delivering lectures. To keep everything, I started summarizing the lectures into my own notes. University life emphasizes concept building because during exams, you can only answer questions porpoely if your understanding of the concepts is strong.
Some Key Practices I Follow While Making Notes

  • Always try to write down information rather than just taking pictures. Writing while listening helps store information for a longer period of time.
  • Avoid using colorful pens stick to simple black and blue for writing, and use a red pen to highlight important points.
  • Utilize sticky notes for additional or extra information instead of adjusting them your pages and make your notes dirty and un organized .
  • Keep sections of your coursework separate and use lightweight journals to minimize carrying excess weight.
  • dont waste too much time in preparing the beautifull or colourfull note just make them as you can understand and read it later

image.png

Grade Boosting and Quick Learning Tricks


As exams approach the process becomes easier when your notes are already prepared and key points are highlighted.
I revisit my notes and search for related videos on YouTube for my understanding of the concepts.
Any additional information I come across is added to my notes using sticky notes, ensuring my notes remain comprehensive, Since I write and organize my notes by hand, I am more familiar with the material. I avoid relying on photos of the board and focus on engaging directly with the content.

image.png

Additional Tip


Always carry a small pocket friendly diary during exams to pen down your targeted tasks you can also go for googles notes I personally prefer using a compact diary. It helps me stay organized and keeps all my essential information handy throughout the exam period.

image.png

hope you all find this usefull and helpull thats all fot today
THANKYOU

Sort:  
 10 hours ago 

Hello, @midha

Here's a review

Club StatusClub5050
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
Voting CSI[ ? ] ( 30.00 % self, 10 upvotes, 7 accounts, last 7d )
Burnsteem250%
AI contentHuman

Thank you for sharing your post in the Steem Nations Community. I recommend reading and engaging with other members' content within the community. If you find something you appreciate, don’t hesitate to upvote it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59169.46
ETH 2597.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42