You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: CEO v0.54 Unit Preview - [Gluttony]

in CEO Champion's Gate4 years ago (edited)

mind trick game but much more understandable without substance abuse

lmao

utilize other people to help you with some parts of development

As much as I would like to have someone helping me with code, I think my programming style is probably not compatible with other people. I have completely made-up conventions and methods, because all formal programming education was largely ignored in favor of just making games myself and disregarding any proper development styles while learning through experimentation and attempting to reach astronomical goals (such as the undefeated spider sequel having millions of passive skills). This has put me into a position where I am doomed to work alone, but also if working in AS2, I think it would take an army of developers to match me. CEO AS3/C# however is a lot more snail-paced, mostly due to it being multiplayer, but the fragmented and chaotic coding style mostly remains making it seem very risky to have anyone tinkering with it.

Since CEO is the only AS3/Multiplayer game I've made, there is also some multitude of variance within the source from changing or adapting these methods across the years, and the final factor is that it's a live game - meaning there isn't much room for messing around with it to progress along any learning period while adjusting to my coding style. I think I would need to make a test server before anyone else modifies the code to avoid risk, or have someone extremely talented involved in which case they probably have a project of their own.

I may or may not also just be one of the types that works best alone, since it eliminates a lot of logistical concerns if everything is done by the same person, more thought can be put into each of those individual things by skipping past any chance of overlap or synchronization issues. There are probably 100x more disadvantages to working alone than in a team, but as is my standard I like to twist negatives into some advantage whenever possible and amplify it to whichever maximum there is to find, and I think that applies here since I've worked alone for 15+ years.

If I were to guess, there is some possibility of community-made unit art being used in the game, but I am not sure how many people are around that would be willing to attempt it in the flash vector format, and it seems strange to even ask people to try that when I am so picky. However, a huge amount of time in making new units is spent drawing and re-drawing a unit 100 times to have them look correct at every zoom level, because some units look great up close then on another monitor they're a tiny blob of static noise. If there were already art made with that in mind for some particular unit, it would drastically reduce the time it took to add them into the game (unless its gluttony send help) I also think that after some time, these forums will show their true colors, and contributions such as auxiliary tools (piecemaker) or vector unit art can start to be more properly rewarded.

Speaking of proper rewards, do you know that ABC spent all of his contribution on units targeted for testing/confirming reported bugs? He never really played much, he just worked forever on piecemaker and bug reports, but I was too poor to ever pay him, and he was usually not treated very well by the community. If he shows up here, things will be different. I have been told this blockchain forum idea is useless and crazy, but the people saying that have no idea where it leads. By the time anyone notices what is happening, this community will have already become a blockchain leviathan.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67321.51
ETH 3513.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83