You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Official Piecemaker Thread (if even needed)

in CEO Champion's Gate4 years ago

Hey there,

I actually recently finished working on a version of the piecemaker with a unit gallery with a bunch of previous versions of the game, a random pretend piece generator, style changes, and some other additions like being able to edit ability text right on the infopanel. The tone of the pretend-generator might be too much of a meme though.

Your piecemaker still sees a lot of use in pretendpiece tournaments, many people are not aware of the forked versions (I can tell by differing visuals).

For any official changes, the ones that stand out the most to me:

(Magic) Target unit is teleported to Ability Target. should be (Magic) Teleport unit to Ability Target.

[Pay 5] Summon Value 0 Skeleton. should be [Pay 4] Summon value 0 Skeleton.

In the piecemaker, there are a few other abilities with intentional wording changes that don't use the piece's name, presumably so that you could use it in other pieces like a different piece with GiantSlime's ability. However, there are some abilities with smaller changes: Butterfly (which was rewritten), Guardian (the word "this" instead of "This"), Enchantress (wall of text description was shortened). Maybe those don't need to be changed though, that's just a list of differences.

Also, the line-drawing tools were an easy fix, one of the functions were used with () after instead of only the function name.

I think people will be interested in further updates but expect that your changes will likely be implemented in other forks (including mine). I have a credits button in mine and don't mind if some of my changes are duplicated as well (there are 4 bugs I have fixed, not including the line draw thing).

Sort:  

Cool, so the reason left to use the original piecemaker is "they don't know the forked version", alright....

I've thought of doing the library thing, but I figured it would be better as a separate page. Considering I already forgot 90% of the code, I probably will have to reread (or even rewrite) them all first...

I've fixed the wording changes you pointed out (the this/This thing too because I don't really remember the reason to write "this") now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 55825.83
ETH 2516.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28