Steps needed to make CEO an Esport

Hi! My old username was NathanT160. I've been playing for years. My rating is 2100

To commemorate the big news of CEO dropping on steam I would love to discuss what we, the CEO community should do to make CEO into an exciting Esport.

I am very passionate about Esports. I have seen games that are much less accessible than CEO turn into thriving competitive communities. Games such like: Tetris, Melee, Starcraft are all really good games that have blossomed into very entertaining spectator sports. Esports is an amazing way to discover new games, I would LOVE IT if more people knew about this amazing game I grew up with. I believe Chess Evolved Online is a game of equal caliber to the big three mentioned earlier. I wouldn't discuss this if I didn't think this game was awesome. Here's some things to consider if we want to make this idea into a reality:

  1. There is no spectator mode in CEO. But that doesn't have to stop us. We can require participants to stream their matches via Twitch. It's kind of a longer workaround to a problem but It really isn't too difficult. The people over in the Tetris community all do it without any major hiccups; They even wrote software that reads their screens and presents their games in a fashion that's more suitable to the modern audience.

  2. There is no standard competitive ruleset.
    Every video game that becomes competitive needs to be played with a different standard than how it is usually experienced to create a more healthy competitive environment. I know there have been tournaments in the past through the forum posts on Kongregate. Many of which had varying rulesets. I've only ever participated in one myself. So I'd love to see feedback on what rulesets worked well and which didn't. Questions like: What should the Moral Cap be at? What pieces should we allow? Should we usually do Best of 1? Best of 3? Best of 5? Best of 7+?

  3. Do we have enough manpower to actually organize something like this?
    Admittedly, I thought this game was completely dead when flash was gone from the internet. I am beyond relieved when the news dropped that this game hit steam. Do people still even play this game? Do people even read these forums? Would anyone in the CEO be interested in an Esport? Are there any bigger logistical problems I'm not aware of?

Any feedback would be much appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68154.08
ETH 3274.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66