You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: CYRUS THE GREAT - Conquests of Media and Lydia

in History4 years ago (edited)

Roman Rising:

Was this before the rise of the Roman Empire which expanded for like a thousand years and started falling around 500 AD? I read a bit about Cyrus when I was studying the Bible.

Vikings

Interesting to see how the world changed so much from the time of Cyrus to the time of the Vikings television series I'm watching, the History Channel, six seasons, roughly around 800 AD as it shows bits and pieces of this new religion called Islam at that time. England was still split into smaller kingdoms.

Mentioning the Romans

They mention the Roman Empire in the show or the remnants of it but they don't mention the former Persian or Babylonian empires. I guess mentioning the most recent empire, the Roman empire, is enough, and it's possible that the Vikings were not totally aware of all of ancient history beyond their own lands.

To Be Continued

The show covers bits and pieces of like Africa, Italy, and also England, that is on top of whatever lands the Vikings already had. It mentions China and I haven't seen the 6th and final season yet.

Sort:  

Cyrus the Great lived during the early to mid 500's BC.
The Roman Republic was formed in 509 BC, and the Roman EMPIRE was formed in 27 BC.

I'll be honest: vikings aren't something I've looked too much into. One thing I do know about them though is that some were hired by Byzantine Emperors to serve as their elite Varangian bodyguard units. (The Byzantine Empire is the name used by later historians to describe the Eastern Roman Empire, which lasted from 395-1453 AD.)

I don't know how much the vikings, coming from Scandinavia, would have known about a mainland European empire that collapsed roughly 4 centuries before they arrived in Britain, so I'd say it's unlikely that they'd even know the name "Babylon" at all.

I've not seen the show, but you've peeked my interest - I'll have to stay tuned! :)

The show is similar to Game of Thrones but grounded in history. But I've not taken the time yet to see accurate and aligned with history the Vikings might be. I compare it to Game of Thrones in that the main star of the television show, Ragnar, has at least six boys. One son killed the other son who was mocking him. Another son dies in a battle. The other four sons end up battling each other or sometimes working together against the other sons. In the show, different people become king of the different places. They die and then the sons or other people become king, similar to what you see in Game of Thrones but without the dragons. But they do reference dragons in the same breath that they mention the myth of Thor and other gods.

Not seen GOT either tbh :) but definitely sounds like my kind of show!

If you like Batman, one show on Fox I enjoyed watching was Gotham.

If you like Batman,
One show on Fox I enjoyed
Watching was Gotham.

                 - joeyarnoldvn


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Not a HUGE superhero fan, but I do like me some batman :)
Did mean to give that show a watch too, looks good

The Resteem's much appreciated! :)
More Persian history blogs are up on the History Community if you're interested :)

https://steemit.com/created/hive-133974

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57387.61
ETH 2518.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31