No need to shout

in Steem Sri Lanka3 years ago




Sep_fucsia_s.png

On some occasions I have been in situations where someone who wants to impose reason raises his voice and even shouts, when he does not find the support he wants. Normally on those occasions, I only manage to say that I understand their position, but that I do not share it, and from then on everything that person says or does is on their own. But I remember once in a work meeting, when there was so much passion at the discussion table, each one exposing his reasons while I observed in silence, because as always, I had already said at the beginning what I wanted to say; then I felt very aggressive in a colleague and very calmly, I looked him in the eyes and told him: Shouting does not make you right... It was very funny, he froze looking at me and for a moment there was silence in the room and soon the meeting was over. Some of my colleagues tell me that I have the power to appease anger with my little voice.



The truth is that those who shout do so precisely because they do not have the necessary arguments to defend their position and only want to silence the other person to believe that they are right; it is a form of self-deception and an attempt to deceive others. Good communication is based on respect, on the acceptance of individuality, on the attempt to find common points and from there to reach an agreement that favors both parties. Shouting is abusive and is a remarkable proof of irrationality.

It is important not to be part of the group of people who encourage this unhealthy practice for human relations, a voice full of anger is not able to be understood, because just with the tone of voice, the listener closes and is predisposed to defend, without wanting to reason the idea that is on the table. It is much more useful to use an appropriate attitude and tone of voice if we really want to be heard. Let violence stay on the other side, never on our side, let's not get into this vicious and harmful circle.



There are many mistakes we all make when communicating, sometimes it seems that we are talking to ourselves, sometimes we reject ideas without respect, sometimes we are ironic or incapable of trying to put ourselves in the shoes of the person who is talking to us. Shouting is so harmful that it can destroy a person's self-esteem, especially that of a child; that is why we have to be tactful when speaking, a phrase, a gesture, can make a difference, for better or worse. Not to mention that we may be feeding the chain of hatred. Let's be part of the solution, not part of the problem.




Sep_fucsia_s.png


Thanks to God for every moment of life
and to you for joining me in this reading
.


Sep_fucsia_s.png


The photograph shown is my own.
Editing with the PhotoCollage application.
Emojis made with the Bitmoji application.
The separator used was made in PowerPoint.
Translation courtesy of deepl.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62964.22
ETH 2595.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74