Invited for Dharma Deshana but going for dinner, that is the customary of our people.

in Steem Sri Lanka7 months ago

Yesterday was a pleasant day because it did not rain like other days. One of my friends died on Saturday, and his seven-day almsgiving was scheduled for yesterday. My friends Anoma and Lucky came to my house after the funeral that day and invited me to the Dana ceremony, which they also attended. As the norm, the seven-day Dana ceremony was invited by open, and I agreed to listen to the sermon with them.

image.png

My friend Lucky called me early in the morning yesterday and asked if I was coming. I said I'd come. Then he asked me to come around 4.30 p.m., but I was reluctant to go that early, so I agreed to come around 6.30 p.m.

Anyway, around 5.30 p.m., I received a call from Lucky, that she had just left her house and asked me to come within another half an hour. I asked her to call me when she got there. When she called, I asked my husband to drop me off there.

Mrs. Mahinda and his daughter warmly welcomed me and invited me to the tea table, but I politely declined and expressed my gratitude. When I arrived there both Lucky and Anoma were present.

image.png

image.png

The monks had arrived for the sermon by 7 p.m., but there were only a few people present to hear it. When invited to Dharma Deshana, Sri Lankans usually arrive late to eat rather than listen to the sermon.

In my opinion, that is incorrect; if we were invited to a Dharma Deshana by someone, it is our responsibility to attend and hear the Dharma Deshana. Everyone is indeed working, but we can get a short leave on that day and attend it. However, most people in Dharma Deshana arrive late on purpose.

Looking at his watch, the monk preached at exactly one hour. Monk provided us with a beneficial and timely Dharmadasa. We also offered the sacrificial items we had brought to the monk after Dharma Deshana.

Following that, we were invited to dinner; however, despite ordering dinner for 200 people, only 150 people attended. As a result, Mrs. Mahinda asked us to bring the parcel to our house as well; my friends agreed, but I politely declined.

Anyway, after dinner, we all said our goodbyes around 9.30 p.m. We had a good time together. My husband arrived to pick me up. We parted ways with the promise to meet again on another day.

Thank you for reading my post.

Sort:  

Attending the dharmadeshana is very worthwhile. And it's worth appreciating your friend's participation in it. In any case, I pray for the well-being of your deceased friend.

Thanks a lot for your kind feedback and taking time to read my post. Have a nice day.

I really enjoy reading your posts, they are very interesting. May you be able to write more creatively. Merry Christmas to you

I appreciate your kind words.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43