Almsgiving at my home.

in Steem Sri Lanka5 months ago

Before my younger son left the country, I planned almsgiving to Buddhist monks as a blessing. We chose the date as February 3rd because it was convenient for everyone, and we invited chief monks by offering Dahath Wattiya and Pirikara two weeks before the pincome day.

image.png

Almsgiving to monks has been a sacred Buddhist ritual for centuries. It is a method of providing food for monks who study and practice Buddhist teachings. At the same time, it teaches us to give and let go.

I decided to invite seven monks and the relic casket (karaduwa) to my house and to provide food and other necessities (Pirikara).

image.png

The most important aspect of almsgiving was offering dana to Buddha's Karaduwa. We placed Karaduwa on a separate table and first offered Dana to the load Buddha. Karaduwa was the one, who brought in the first line.

image.png

All food was served on plates and placed on a table in front of the seated monks. First, a senior monk administered the five percepts to the assembled crowd, as is customary. After the senior monk gave a brief address on the significance of the occasion, we presented food to the monks. Later, we offered other requirements (Pirikara). The most significant pirikara among these offerings was traditionally known as 'Atapirikara'. Finally, another monk administered the punnanumodanawa. After completing all of these tasks, the relic casket and monks were brought back to the temple in the same manner in which they had been brought, and the proceedings were concluded. Finally, we shared this offering with deceased family members and ancestors, passing on merits (pins).

image.png

image.png

Except for my sister's family, elder brother, and sister-in-law, I did not invite any other relatives or neighbors that day, because I wanted to finish it amidst less noise. But I sent food baskets to all of my relatives and neighbors. I arranged food for fifty people, and two women came to my house to prepare them in the evening of the day before Dana Ceremony.

After the dana, my heart was filled with joy because I could complete it nicely. Even though it rained heavily the previous days, those two days' rain ceased well. I can be happy recalling this pinkama frequently.

Thank you for reading my post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 56948.01
ETH 3056.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40