The best place I've ever visited | Steem Sri Lanka: Contest Series - Week 5 | Arugam Bay

in Steem Sri Lanka4 years ago (edited)

IMG_5139.jpg

Arugam Bay Beach (RRRJ+8J Arugam Bay)

Hi all the Steemians! Hope you are doing well.

As you already know, Steem Sri Lanka community is conducting a weekly contest series and this is 5th week of it. My friend @damithudaya organizes this week’s contest. As it is an interesting contest, I thought to take part. So, this is my entry for it.

I am not a traveller, but I have visited many places with my friends. Among them, this was the last trip: Trip to Arugam Bay. We visit there on 21st and 22nd of February 2020, just before corona attacks our country. Many university friends of my Department: Department of Chemical and Process Engineering, joined with this. It was more than 40.

map.png

Map

2.png

Map With Main Destinations

We took our departure from university and it was around 2 in the morning when we left since we had to travel a lot. This place is in the opposite side beach of my country, Sri Lanka. And I should mention that Sri Lanka is an island situated in the Indian Ocean. You can see the locations on the map.

EOJZ2258.JPG

Upper Diyaluma (P2RM+24 Naulla)

EUYM7614.JPG
Upper Diyaluma (P2RM+24 Naulla)

IMG_E4805.JPG
Upper Diyaluma (P2RM+24 Naulla)

We had breakfast from my friend Ramal’s home at Udawalawa. We wanted to visit Upper Diyaluma also on the way to Arugam Bay. Upper Diyaluma is a beautiful waterfall located in the Uva Province. I am not going to describe it with details as this is not my destination today.

FBIQ5231.JPG

On the Way to Arugam Bay

The destination was near Pothuvil town and we bought some food items from the town. This place is called Arugam Bay and it is situated in the southeast costal area of the country. If you need more, it is in Ampara district of the Eastern Province. We travelled from University of Moratuwa via Pelmadulla, Udawalawa, Buththala and Monaragala to Pothuvil.

IMG_1755.png

Bamboo Grove (RRRJ+8J Arugam Bay)

In the evening we reached our hotel. The name of the place we stayed was Bamboo Grove. We had planned to prepare our dinner by ourselves. So, as soon as we got there, we started to prepare it. We made a fried rice, potato curry, chilli paste, papadam and a devilled chicken. Boys also helped us with this. More than helping, they cracked jokes time to time and made us laugh and sometimes (of course) angry. Happy memories. Everyone was hungry, So, we had dinner quickly.

IMG_1754.png

Girls After Making Dinner

Everyone one was here and there, chatting, resting after a long journey, laughing, and singing etc. The place where we stayed was a very nice place. They have made that place in a unique way. There were many scenic places to take photos. Different cabanas were there with different names like Alaska, Amazon, Congo, Sinha etc.

IMG_E5196.JPG

Bamboo Grove (RRRJ+8J Arugam Bay)

VAPC0093.JPG
Bamboo Grove (RRRJ+8J Arugam Bay)

BBXY5494.JPG

Bamboo Grove (RRRJ+8J Arugam Bay)

On the next, we had breakfast early and went to the beach. It was very beautiful morning. No surfers were there as it was off-season for surfing. Many people come there for surfing from all over the world around from April to October. If you need to know the peak, it is from July to August.

AISD7920.JPG

Arugam Bay Beach (RRRJ+8J Arugam Bay)

IMG_5099.JPG

Arugam Bay Beach (RRRJ+8J Arugam Bay)

IMG_5115.JPG

Arugam Bay Beach (RRRJ+8J Arugam Bay)

RMIK7643.JPG

Arugam Bay Beach (RRRJ+8J Arugam Bay)

IMG_1565.JPG

Arugam Bay Beach (RRRJ+8J Arugam Bay)

We played in water for hours. As my friend Supun wanted to capture more, we two went some far through the seashore. It was beautiful in the other side also as it was less crowded there. We played and bathed until it reached lunch hour and came back to Bamboo Grove. After having a bath with normal water, we had our lunch.

DTZW6470.JPG

Arugam Bay (RRRJ+8J Arugam Bay)

Then, we went for a walk around nearby roads. We had some snacks and ice creams from nearby shops and wondered here and there taking photographs.

In the evening, we packed our bags and other stuff and left there to come to the university. We had evening tea from my friend Srimali’s home near Hambantota. It was around midnight when we reached our campus.

These video were prepared by my friend Supun on this trip. Have a look.


Memories at Arugam Bay


Memories at Upper Diyaluma

This is my entry for @damithudaya’s contest on Steem Sri Lanka - Contest Series | Week 05 | The best place I've ever visited. Thank you for coming up with great idea for the contest. Thank you all for reading.

Sort:  

Wow @sandu, interesting article... Again my friend Thima ayya is here... 😂😂😂

image.png

This one is so beautiful ❤️ Nice journey my friend 🤗🤗🤗

He is also in the same department as me 😁😁 and also he is one of the constant members of all the trips as I remember. ❤️

Thank you for the comments. Have a nice day 🙌🙌

Ah! chemical gang! You have gone through my area,

Buththala

It should be Buttala... 🙈🙈🙈

These two are great places for have fun with nice landscape. I have been more than 3 times.

Great set of pictures. Good luck with the contest

Oh we should have visited there if we got to know it earlier 😒😒

It should be Buttala... 🙈🙈🙈

I typed it as it sounds 🙈🙈

I haven't visited these two places before. Now I want to go after reading this 😊 feels like a great experience..

Let’s try after this corona ends 😍 hopefully 😅😅

Hola amiga que viaje tan espectacular, que paisajes tan hermosos. Me encantao la cascada, que experiencia.
Wao y esa playa que placer estar alli.
Solo se me descargo el video de la cascada y me encanto; no pude descargar el de la playa, pero mas tarde hago el intento.
Un placer conocer estos maravillosos lugares a traves de este concurso.
Saludos y mucho exito.

hi friend! thank you for visiting my post 😍

just type and google these names, I'm sure you will be surprised. There are many waterfalls and attractive beaches in Sri Lanka.

If you travel, I invite you. It is worth to visit here. 💕💕

Love from Sri Lanka. Have a nice day 🤗🤗

Hola gracias, ojala la vida me permita hacer un viaje tan maravilloso, gracias por la invitacion.

Niceeeeeee...

Pasikuda is the same place or not? I don't remember

No Pasikuda is a different place. I haven’t been there yet. I think it is near Batticaloa 🤔 this is near Potuvil 😊😊

There is a different beach near arugambay called panama beach. it is also beautiful 😍

Bummer. That means I haven't been to Arugambay yet. Every beach looks exactly the same to me.. ugh

Go there once this corona is over 😊😊

Thank you For Your Entry.


Your post has been upvoted by Steem Sri Lanka community curator.


Steem Sri Lanka - Contest Series | Week 05 | The best place I've ever visited


@asimo You Successfully Trended The Post, But @sandu Is Not Yet Bind His/Her STEEM & HIVE Accounts To Receive The TAN Rewards.
You Utilized 3/3 Daily Summon Bot Calls.

TAN Current Market Price : 0.350 HIVE

Want to visit all these places.😍😍😍
Nice article


@sandu Is Not Yet Bind His/Her STEEM & HIVE Accounts To Receive The TAN Rewards.
Therefore, Author Reward of 0.847 TAN Sent To @null & Burned. Curators Made 0.593 TAN.

tangent.token


Join CORE / VAULT Token Discord Channel or Trade TANGENT Token
TAN Current Market Price : 0.222 HIVE

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63223.35
ETH 2688.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55