Road Trip to Polonnaruwa 🏍️ - Part 02 - Swimming Elephants

in Steem Sri Lanka2 months ago

Hope you all are doing well. I will start from where I left off. As I said you during last post, we went to Polonnaruwa last month by motor bike. On the first day, we could reach there in the afternoon. After having lunch, we walked around a bit. This was not my first time of visiting Polonnaruwa.


image.png

Most of the areas have been developed throughout these years. Walking around to see the beauty was not that much tired thanking to the clay tile paths laying around ancient historical areas. That was a good relief. We entered to the old town by bike. So journey was not tiresome.

We visited to almost all the places inside old town. How we can forget to worship Pothgul Viharaya when visiting Polonnaruwa after this much long. We bought flowers from a seller as we did not bring any.


image.png

On the journey we could see Watadageya, Shiwa devalaya I & II, Nelum Pokuna, Thiwanka Pilima Geya, Demala maha Seya, Rankoth Vehera, Lanka Thilaka Viharaya & Manik Vehera etc. It was really interesting than all other times. It did not take so long to see all these places with new roads and all.


image.png

On the way back, as I said you in earlier post, we took a bath from the channel that takes water from Parakramasamudraya to other small tanks. It was really refreshing. During the time of exploring bund of the tank, we found the most interesting part.

image.png

It was sunset when we visit there. There are two island at the middle of the Parakramasamudraya. We could see 3 elephants there. It is not a place where elephants can live all the time. It has only limited resources. I remembered the article that I read some times back on swimming elephants.

image.png

They swim all the way down from Wasgamuwa National Park to this small islands to spend their day time here. I could not satisfy by looking at this scenery. It was quite amazing with the sunset. We waited so long to see whether they go back to the forest in the evening.

image.png

At the end we decided to go back to the hotel as they were not going to move. I will tell you the rest of the story in a later post. Bye byeeeee!

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

This post has been upvoted by @italygame witness curation trail


If you like our work and want to support us, please consider to approve our witness




CLICK HERE 👇

Come and visit Italy Community



Hi @sandu,
my name is @ilnegro and I voted your post using steem-fanbase.com.

Come and visit Italy Community

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61800.05
ETH 2496.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64