Love it OR Hate it !

in Steem Sri Lanka2 years ago

Sometimes back I have heard following phrase from somewhere. “There are two categories in this world. People who love marmite and people who hate marmite.” “If you love it, you will love it unconditionally and if you hate it, you will hate even the smell of it.” In which category, you are in?

image.png

This difference can be seen even within our home. Our father is the only one who hate it and he does not even like to use a spoon that was used to take marmite out of its container. And there are us who love marmite very much. We eat it in different ways.

According to the Wikipedia Marmite has been invented in 19th century by German scientist Justus von Liebig. It's manufacturing process has been started from 1902. Marmite is considered as a savoury food spread from the United Kingdom, based on yeast extract.

I would like to know the ways that you like to eat marmite. We make it as a drink. My grandma used to add onion, curry leaves, pepper and pinch of salt into this drink. I too like it. I like to spread them on cream crackers, coconut rotties, slices of bread. It is very much tasty with hot rice and coconut sambol. Even with scrapped coconut.

According to the Wikipedia, Marmite is a sticky, dark brown paste with a distinctive, salty, powerful flavour and matching heady aroma. This distinctive taste is represented in the marketing slogan: "Love it or hate it." Such is its prominence in British popular culture that the product's name is often used as a metaphor for something that is an acquired taste or tends to polarize opinion.

image.png
squeeze me version of marmite

See!!! This agrees with what I said in the beginning. Marmite has two different fan base. Lovers and Haters. Normally people do not stand in between. Other than a spread, marmite is used as a nutritional food. Normally it is good for people with weak health conditions due to illnesses. And it is a 100% vegan product.

image.png
Different looks of marmite

Marmite has the same look for years. Yellow color lid with dark brown glass bottle. When I search, I got to know that there were some different looks for limited editions of marmite. One for its 100th anniversary. And one for Ashes cricket test series in 2009. Also Wikipedia says that, there was a special limited edition in commemoration of the Diamond Jubilee of Queen Elizabeth II in 2012. For this name was replaced with "Ma'amite".

There are so many different stories about marmite. Just google it. This is not a good time to love marmite as price of a bottle has been risen up dramatically and there is a shortening in the market. Still, I invite all the marmite haters to love it !

Sort:  

Marmite is not one of my favourites. Also I don't hate. The sweetest part is not the taste. It's smell. I love it.

I love to eat it, but hate to drink it. But our father loves both🤣

I hate it. I don't like to its strong smell. 😥😥

I do not like it..I can not bear that smell🥲

This difference can be seen even within our home.

This is the same for every house nh🤣 My sister and father really love it..I never understand why it?😒

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63867.81
ETH 3135.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84