Look What we Made | 5% to SL Charity

in Steem Sri Lanka3 years ago

I wanted to buy a Nelum pot. But it got delayed day by day with the situation in the country. It was fair to go out to buy necessary things. But this was not on the list of essential items. So, every time it gets delayed. Finally I searched for methods to do it at home.

IMG_20210903_145428.jpg
There were two different interesting, possible methods. One was to use a big pan to make it. It was a pan that use to make Dodol or Kiri for occasions like "කිරි දාන" that is performed to have the blessing of Goddess Paththini. Though we have one at home, I did not like to use that because we use that pan to make food.

IMG_20210903_141557.jpg

The second method is to use a block made with sand. I chose that method. My father and brother helped me with this. All the heavy works were done by my brother. First he brought sand from the sand dump that remains after the construction works of the home.

IMG_20210903_142704.jpg

We needed to make a shape of the inner side of the nelum pot with sand. After making the shape we added some water on it and that helped to shape the structure. That was done by me. 😅 Durng that time brother and father made the cement mixture. I added wetted newspaper sheets on the mould and shaped that onto the sand structure.
IMG_20210903_143340.jpg

Then we put cement mixture around the mould and did not forget to add some metal strings. Then we covered the whole thing with cement. Each time my brother was scolded by my father. Males do not like to surrender to each other. Father blames brother and brother blames back to father. Very funny.
IMG_20210903_144752.jpg

After covering it with cement mixture we added some cement powder to it and then shaped it with a mason spoon. As we are experiencing rains these days, we covered it properly to avoid contact with water. I will show it after drying soon.

Stay safe!

Sort:  

wow.. great work. I like to this after the end of this process.

I will share it once it is done.

Good work at home. waiting to see your lotus grow in that pot. it is sad I don't have a brother to get done those kind of things 🙊.

apart from that advantage, there are a lot of disadvantages. so don't worry. 😄

I know. I really don't want a little brother😂.

Agreed 🤣

Great work..😍 waiting for your final design of Nelum pokuna and flowers..😍

I will post that soon. Some works are still left😊

Oh wow! This proves that we don't need to buy everything

yeah, most of the things we can make at home these days. 💖

damn I spent 1200 for this kind of thing :( Really we didn't have cement with us. I am pretty sure this one is successful. Don't forget to share

damn I spent 1200 for this kind of thing

next time you can make one on your own.
yeah we removed the mould and made a stand today. I will share it with you once it is done.

🤩🤩🤩we can mada such thing easily akke...and you are doing it well...I also made this type of pot by using plastic basin..😋

yeah we can use a plastic basin too. but I did not want to take my mother's property. 🤣🤣🤣

Ohh!! This is the idea for my dream flower pot! 💖

you can make one on your own.

It's great sandu. I'm also looking for lotus flowers these days. I will take advice from you😋

you can make one at home. it is easy if you have someone to help.

Instead of sands...You can use plastic basins at bottoms....

yeah that was an option too. but we did not have a basin with a proper shape. taking my mother's property is a punishable crime. 😁 so we skipped that.

mother's property is a punishable crime

But she may liked it nope???

I am the one who loves flowers in our home. she may like it. i did not take the risk.

Ohh really... In our home, my mother is doing that....She making pots to plant water lily, lotus etc...

IMG_20210205_145320.jpg
This is done by my little brother 🙊 I think your one is also perfect 😍 It's a cool feeling after preparing this pot. You will also experience it near future 🙊🙊

we removed the mould and made a stand. I will share it once it is done. Is that Kumudu?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61841.74
ETH 3420.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47