How I Got into My Profession | Steem Sri Lanka 3G Contest Series| Week 09 | 5% to SL Charity

in Steem Sri Lanka3 years ago

When talking about my profession, it is a long journey. No one came to their current profession with a single try. This theory applies to me too. Okay! I will be a Chemical and Process Engineer within the next few months. I am going to tell you my story.

image.png

A Photo from Unsplash

In Sri Lanka, you have to spend 13 years of School life and 4 years of university life if you are going to a State School and State University. So I was. I first attended Sri Devananda College, Ambalangoda for my primary education. There is a Scholarship examination in grade 5 and if you got good marks, you can apply to another school. So from this examination, I got a chance to attend Dharmasoka College, Ambalangoda.

With the performance you show, you can get into Advanced Level after Ordinary Level Examination. I got 9As for O/levels and selected Physical Science for A/levels. Those who get better results can apply to State Universities. With good results from this, I got selected to the dream university of any Physical Science Student in the country; University of Moratuwa, Faculty of Engineering.

image.png

At University

When I was small I did not have such a dream to become an Engineer. At little age, I wanted to be a teacher. The only reason was to wear a saree. Once I wanted to join a circus team. This is weird. Then I wanted to join the Military. The reason was my father who worked in Sri Lankan Army. Then I wanted to be a doctor. The only reason was to select medicines from different colours. I did not have a dream to become an Engineer until A/levels. As I performed well I became an Engineer.

I loved Mathematics. That was the reason for me to select the physical science stream for A/levels. I understood that it was very silly to select engineering because we loved mathematics. They are two different paths and you will hate mathematics after you joined engineering for sure. 😜

IMG_2702.JPG

My Department Mates | A Photo from Official Album of ChemECon 2020

As this is a full and standard course, there is no need to do additional courses. But if you are interested you can do Management courses, Programming courses, courses related to quality, sustainability, energy etc. I too have done some courses related to programming, quality and management.

Other than everything, you need to have soft skills. Communication, leadership, teamwork, management, stress handling, strategic thinking and many more. You learn many things with your profession and related education process. So I am.

I just have 6 months of training experience up to now. Just it. And I will have more sooner. Within that short time, I exposed to the industrial environment. There I could understand the process, financial and management side, research and development side etc. Other than them, we worked as a team with the people in every profession. It was a great experience.

image.png

My Training Place

I have no achievement to mention, yet survive up to this point is also an achievement for me and my family. I am the first one to become an Engineer in my whole family and my sister @dasuni after that. I think I have become a good example for her. So this is an achievement. 😉 My brother is still doing his O/levels. Let's see. I will be able to win many things in the future. Up to now, my family's happiness that was caused by me is all I have.

My mother is the main reason for me to become who am I today. She is behind my every success. I can not forget my father, he is the invisible hero behind everything. He does not say his happiness from his mouth, yet I can see it from his eyes. And my sister is there for everything and also my brother though he is a little physico.

I cannot forget my teachers when thinking about my past. They showed me the right path. My very best friends and some family members truly wished my success. I am thankful to every one of them. This big thank is to everyone who helped me with the way up to now. Love you! 😍💖 Also, I am thankful to everyone who hurt me and discouraged me. I love you twice. 😉


I invite @rasinkani, @hmetu and @dasuni to share your stories with us. Here is the link to the contest which is conducted by our friend @alejos7ven from Venezuela. Have a look!

Announcing Contest: How I Got into My Profession? | Steem Sri Lanka 3G Contest Series| Week 09

Sort:  

I liked the way you explain your profession dear, the photo with smiley faces really an awesome expression.

line1.png

Greetings friend,
I'm from community #SteemShip would like to invite you to attend our community #contest, we find that you make quality post so we choose you to invite for our running contest which has 40 steem in prize pot

10 lucky winners will be rewarded, isn't it awesome?

Find more about the contest here: 📣Friday Weekly Contest : STEEM HW3 CONTEST FOR PROMO STEEM || Write About Your Hand Washing Products & Activity |SteemShip Contest | 40 Steem Prize
Good luck
Best regards
Behalf of SteemShip community team.

community-footer.jpg

thank you @shohana1 for your comments. those photos recall my memories with my university friends.

yeah sure. I will have a look at your contest.
thanks for visiting. 💖

Welcome

Your post has been upvoted by Steem Sri Lanka Community Curation Trail.

Steem Sri Lanka Discord Channel

✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵

Join With
steem-sri.lanka
Curation Trail For Better Curation Rewards

That is heart touching 😍

This is weird

No! Don't say like that. They are colurful thoughts in our childhood. 🙊🙊
I wish you a brighter future Sandu ❤️

yeah. those dreams were colourful and our imaginations were great. 💖
thank you @sandupi for your wishes.

@sandu,A fondness, an opening for the future, a renewal of old memories

yeah it is kind of recalling memories. 😍

Even if there were difficult times, you have made it almost to the end of the degree. Looking forward to see you as a employee.

And the dream of ours to get the degree together will soon become a reality 💖.

you were there in most of the milestone of my life. finally, we have made it to the end. just a little remaining. we can do it.💖

💖💖💖💖

I too have done some courses related to programming, quality and management.

When did you do this?😮

You have come a long way so far getting a lot of experience. Wish you all the best in career. ❤️

When did you do this?

some time back.
you also have done a great job up to now. thank you so much for the comments.
I wish you success in your life too. 💖

!upvote 50

Oh! you know programming :) what language you used? Congratulacions, is a big achieve for you become in a engineering, thank you for your great entry ;)
#onepercent #twopercent #affable

the post has been upvoted successfully! Remaining bandwidth: 550%

I am not a programming related Engineer. Still I know Java and Python up to some extend. Wanted to learn more, never had time (okay it is not about time, I was too lazy). 😉

Congratulations !

We are the hope of the helpless posts.
Your post has been manually rewarded by The Seven Team. Follow our Curation Trail or delegate us | 50SP | 100SP | 200SP | 300SP | 400SP | 500SP | and reach us in our discord channel.
Become in a Seven now.

I have seen that how much you troubles came to your life and how you managed to win your life facing all of them. So happy to see where you are today. And looking forward to the day that you get what your commitment deserves. 💕

we could survive up to now. I think we will be able to bear anything with these experiences. sometimes, things happen for a reason and okkoma wenne hondata. 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73