Daily Visitors with Gate Passes 😅 | 5% to SL Charity

in Steem Sri Lanka3 years ago
We don't accept visitors these days, do you? With this pandemic, we have to limit our visitors. Considering my parents' health, I don't like to see anyone entering through our gate. Am I rude? But I accept few fellows. The thing is they don't come through the gate. 😋 All these photos I took through the window in my room. This is a secret mission.

The Myna

IMG_20210827_102704.jpg

This one is a common bird in many gardens, He usually searches for food while walking rhythmically on the ground. If you have seen a starling by any chance, you will notice many similarities between these two birds. The reason is these two belong to the same family. This bird has a unique sound. This bird sometimes visits my bird feeder.

The Yellow-billed babbler | Demalichcha

IMG_20210827_133654.jpg

These roam around in groups. Very common in our gardens. A bird with brown feathers and a yellow beak. They are very noisy birds who shout and shake feathers whenever there is a risk. (a snake or a cat 😅) They love to bathe in rain and often see them soon after the rain. They come to my bird feeder as a group and threaten poor squirrel: the owner of the bird feeder.

The Cuckoos | Koha | Koel

IMG_20210827_150351.jpg
This bird is not familiar as its sound does. In Sri Lanka, people believe that this bird sounds during the Traditional Sinhala and Tamil New Year season. It was very hard to take this photo without noticing. So, I believe that its eyesight is very good. It has a red-coloured eye and black feathers with white spots.

As far I know, the partner of this bird is totally black in color. I should say its sound is very much pleasant and we can hear that during New year season in April. This sound belongs to the male cuckoo and the female one does not sound like that. That call is for his partner though it is said to be they sound during the new year.

පණු කුරුල්ලා

IMG_20210828_114726.jpg

This is a family of that birds. I don't know its English name and also whether this Sinhala name is right or not. I googled but did not find any details. You may call them from a different name. Please tell me how you call them. They make a different type of nest small trees and cover the nest with leaves. I said this from my memories of childhood.

IMG_20210828_114927.jpg

In this photo two of them are babies and one is a parent. I saw one feed others with its beak. But baby birds were not that much small. Can you see that in the capture?

The Red-Vented Bulbul | කොණ්ඩ කුරුල්ලා

IMG_20210827_150441.jpg
I said about this family earlier. There is a family of them roaming around. Father, mother and 3 babies. They are the great villains of the poor squirrel: the owner of the bird feeder. They have hair on their head and that is why we call them කොණ්ඩ කුරුල්ලා in Sinhala. කොණ්ඩ(konda) means hair in Sinhala.

The Woodpecker | කොට්ටෝරුවා

IMG_20210826_110847.jpg
This species is called The crimson-backed flameback or greater Sri Lanka flameback in English. I found that on Wikipedia. It did not come to the bird feeder but to a tree near it. It was hard to capture and with king coconut leaves. Can you see it near the orange king coconuts? On the right side of the picture. They usually search for a proper tree to make a cavity on its trunk. So that it can make its nest.


Apart from this, there are some random dogs, cats, squirrels, land monitors(monitor lizards), mongooses, crows, Wood Pigeons (Batagoya), lizards, rats, palm civet and few others who have permission to enter here during this pandemic. 😄

Sort:  

These photos are amazing 😍😍, great work akke

thank you malli. it was hard with my phone.

🙌🙌🤩they have a plate🙊🙊 godak aya innawane...😋😍 man kohek dakala na tama hariyata...eyaka kaganawa unata hoyaganna ba kohe da inne kiyala😞

Dakinna amarui Thamai. Sadde witharaine ahenne. Patath ekka gas asse innakota penne nathuwa athi. Dawas ganakma photo eka ganna hadaddi igilila giya.

that's awesome you have taken many photos. I really want to capture birds but they fly away.

You may call them from a different name.

They are very common but we don't call him by a name. I thought he is avichchiya

no this is not Avichchiya. Avichchiya has white spots on his belly. this one does not have them.

I really want to capture birds but they fly away

that's why I made bird feeder near my room window. 😁

Lovely photo collection 😍 I also love to do this secret mission. Didn't you take any photos of peacocks? 🙊

peacocks don't come to the bird feeder. They sometimes come to the upper part of the garden. my room is on other side.

It's great to have this kinda ambient with a great bio diversification. 💚💚💚

it is true. it very much helps me to relax my mind. looking at their dramas is a different kind of pleasure.

I saw one feed others with its beak.

This is soo lovely..😍 What a patient @sandu..I think you may spent longer time to capture all of them.🤗

I made my bird feeder near my room's window. so that I can capture them secretly. 😅

It is good to live in a place where we can see trees and little animals. whenever I go closer to a bird or a squirrel to take a photo, they get away.

Chandiya wage photo gahanawa ge athule inna nisa😂.

that's why I made my bird feeder near my window. then I can take these photos while sitting near the table.

Wow,beautiful post.Of course these guys come to our house these days.

thank you akka. yeah, they are common in our gardens.

Even I have noticed that the number of birds that come to our garden has increased recently. I don't know why though.....

human activities are limited these days. that may be the reason.

Meka saththu waththak wage...Sinhayoo nedda ???

hitiya. eyawa ssl ekata dunna kalekata kalin. 😅

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57839.82
ETH 3132.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43