Crotons bring back memories of my Late Grandma | 5% to SL Charity

in Steem Sri Lanka3 years ago

IMG_20210924_161559.jpg

Do you have croton plants in your garden? Those plants with colourful and beautiful leaves? I have had many plants here since the time I can recall back. Those plants were planted by my lovely grandmother who left us 22 years before.

IMG_20210924_161349.jpg

I can remember her barbandasia, kapuru and hibiscus plants too. We had very beautiful colours of hibiscus flowers. White, pink, cream and red as far as I remember. But they did not last long.

IMG_20210924_161607.jpg

But we still have those crotons here. She used them as a fence in the backyard. There are many variants and many colours. The thing about crotons is they turn into different colours with the amount of sunshine they get. They can withstand heavy sun rays and become more colourful then.

IMG_20210924_161835.jpg

Plants in the shade become greeny as they get a low amount of sunshine. I could see that clearly while taking the photographs. These plants are beautiful when they grow like a bush with more branches and leaves. For that, you need to maintain them properly.

IMG_20210924_161718.jpg

But here, no one especially looks after them. We just cut them from time to time and clear vines that grow on them. We do not water them or supply nutrients to the plants. But they grow well without any of them.

IMG_20210924_163627.jpg

I have heard that they can be grown using plants too. It roots under healthy environmental conditions if we put a leaf in the soil. I haven't tried it. We usually use a branch to plant as a new one. They grow well if they have enough moisture in the soil even if we don't look after them.

IMG_20210924_161526.jpg

I love these plants as they were planted by my grandma. I feel like I am with here when I am with them. Some small things become memories once the person that made those things left. I am loving these plants as I don't have my grandparents around.

IMG_20210924_163520.jpg

From all the above crotons, I like long-leaved plants. Also ones with beautiful colors. To see the true beauty, put them in the sunshine. Normally baby leaves have separate colors, then grown leaves are very colorful and leave in shade are more greeny.

IMG_20210924_161626.jpg

Mostly, the veins in the leave have a different color than other parts of it. Most of the time they are colorful. But sometimes there are colorful spots on the leave. These dots can be seen very clearly when we put them in the sunshine.

IMG_20210924_161654.jpg

Other than the types I mentioned here, there are a lot of crotons in the gardens. They sell even in the flower shops and I have seen some people have perfectly used them to make their gardens beautiful. If you have something other than these types, share with me too.

IMG_20210924_161708.jpg

Stay safe!

Sort:  

amazing plant. this makes it very easy for us to sing because we don't have to spend much time caring for and watering it👍

Yeah they don’t take time to treat them. They grow alone without out affection 😁

I didn't know that those different colours are due to variations in sunlight. You have a really big collection of it. 👏

Actually my grandma planted them. Thanks to her I have a lot of varieties.

A lot of varieties of crotons. Once upon a time our home garden was just like yours.

I think it was a trend back then.

So many types of crotons.😍 They add a unique beauty to a garden.

Yeah there are a lot. Thanks to my achchi

In our home garden also have this plants. They bring some colorfulness for our garden.

Yeah that’s true. They add an unique beauty and colorfulness

Very beautiful crotons🥰🥰

Thank you there are a lot of them.

You have so many types of crotons in your garden. I can remember our grand ma's place also had some of these when we were kids.

I think it was some kind of trend at that time 🤭

It should be. like we see lotus and roses everywhere these days.

these are hardy plants, they don't have flowers, it's just the colorful leaves that make our village interesting grow the flowers too. but some of us flowers are on display on the fences

But sometimes we can see a small comb of flowers in croton trees too. Only in well grown plants. But they are grown mostly as a colorful plant without flowers

I like their colour combinations. In my garden also having different variety of crotons

Many Sri Lankan homes have these plants.

I've heard that these croton gardening was taken the sri lankan households by a storm in our parents generation. Still few are remaining in our garden too. Those leaves were our money, decoratives, imaginary food and used as everything in our childhood 😅

Yeah! I remembered that there was a red colored croton spies which was used as coin. Simply croton was our childhood assets🤪

Yeah we too considered them as money, coins, foods, vegetables and fruits and plates and cups 🤣

Seems like so. Many houses have crotons. We too used them as food, coins, plates and vegetables when we were playing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 56386.16
ETH 2529.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49