Temple of my village #2| 5% for SL Charity

in Steem Sri Lanka3 years ago

I have mentioned about the temple in our village before. It was the place we started the Elpitiya Charity event in Charity phase 1 last year. This temple is situated in a hill area and it is built from the bottom to top of the hill.

Because of this incident people do not go to the hilltop daily but meets monks at the temple which is at the bottom of the hill and return.

WhatsApp Image 2022-01-22 at 23.19.58 (1).jpeg

When we go for religious activities, we have to reach the top. I like to go to the temple when there are not much people.

As many temples have, our temple also has statues that remind important incidents of Buddhism. Among them, there are two statues which are important for Sri Lankan Buddhists. They are මහින්දාගමනය and දුමින්දාගමනය.

WhatsApp Image 2022-01-22 at 23.19.58.jpeg

I know almost every Buddhist know what these two events are. මහින්දාගමනය is, Mihindu Tero coming into Sri Lanka. We have learnt in the story that Tero has met the King Devanampiyathissa while he was hunting a deer. And Thero was on top of a rock which situated near a Mango tree. The statues built in our temple has matched with this story.

WhatsApp Image 2022-01-22 at 23.19.57 (1).jpeg

Statues are built on a rock, and there is a Mango tree in a side. Kind is staying at the bottom of the rock and the deer is running for his life.

There are 6 statues of Thero including Mihindu Thero and the බන්ඩුක උපාසක. At the moment I was capturing these statues there was a new බලු උපාසක also.

WhatsApp Image 2022-01-22 at 23.19.57.jpeg

And I went to the දුමින්දාගමනය statue with the purpose of taking a photo. The place has be destroyed by the sunlight, rain and wind. It has not been repaired for decades. I felt sad. People should have taken care of it. I think I maybe the first person who went there after a while. Most of the kids nowadays may not know that there is this statue in our temple. I should show it to my little cousins next time.

Sort:  

Seems like an ancient location...

It has not been repaired for decades...

This is the pathetic side. They are only collecting money...

Not very much ancient I think.

Sha.. apata eda yanna bari unane udata. Lassnaine

Ow udata naginnat tiyei godak. Aye welawaka awith yamu 😁

This article reminded me to my dhamma school life..🤗

Write about it!!! we will get to read an interesting article.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62264.03
ETH 2431.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50