We were Able to Save Her Children, But Not Her

in Steem Sri Lanka2 years ago

photo_2022-05-30_16-59-05.jpg

Rain flows from morning to night. It is a very difficult season to desert plants like cactus and succulents. We have a few cactus and succulents here and we face different difficulties these days.

As I mentioned in my early articles, some of my succulents already died due to watering. Even though we have placed them in a greenhouse the heavy rain flows with the wind had damaged some other plants as well.

My brother found a cactus plant that looks very squishy and he identified it as overwatered. On the first day, I didn't accept it, but on the second day, I couldn't believe my eyes. After recognizing it is overwatered, my brother removed it from the pot and placed it in a dry place without soil. On the second day, the plant looked like the below. :(

photo_2022-05-30_16-58-50.jpg

The plant was green in the first day, but within a night it converted to brown and looked infected by fungus.

photo_2022-05-30_16-58-54.jpg

As the plant is half dead, we decided to separate its child plants. Two of three plants looked healthy and the remaining child plant had become brown. So I carefully moved two healthy baby plants and placed them in a dry place to get rid of any possible infections.

photo_2022-05-30_16-59-08.jpg

This is a Gymnocalycium variety, we protected it for 3 months without any problem. With this, we decided to do a checkup on other plants as well. Following is the pot we used to plant the above plant and you can see how wet is the soil. If your cactus looked over watered, the best thing is, remove the plant from the pot and dry the root system as much as you can. Keep the plant in a dry place without soil for 1 to 3 days before repot.

photo_2022-05-30_16-59-12.jpg

Another experience to life!
5% to sl-charity

Sort:  

This post has been upvoted by @italygame witness curation trail


If you like our work and want to support us, please consider to approve our witness




CLICK HERE 👇

Come and visit Italy Community



Hi @randulakoralage,
my name is @ilnegro and I voted your post using steem-fanbase.com.

Come and visit Italy Community

Hope at least the baby plants would grow healthily and how is your blue lotus plant now?

It's good you could save baby plants before all of them are infected.

Continue caring will help with any damage.

I can understand how difficult it is to make these plants.😐

I have always been lousy at taking care of plants, because my memory doesn't help me in this mission 😅. However, I have friends who do, and I know how they suffer when one of their plants dies. I hope the ones they were able to save will have a better future. ✨

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59276.59
ETH 2464.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44