Tears of Life | SL-Charity Elpitiya | 15% to SL Charity

in Steem Sri Lanka3 years ago

photo_2021-04-11_18-20-35.jpg

It is a dirty old dumped Santa Claus toy on a broken bed in the sitting room.

This house was the 3rd destination of our today's charity event at Elpitiya. It was a house with a sitting room and a kitchen but nothing else. Six kids live with their parents in this house.

The woman that you are seeing below, came to the road to take us to her house. She gave us two options, first to stop by her sister's house and second to visit her house. We selected the second option, so she leads the way to her house.

photo_2021-04-11_19-00-39.jpg

Her hand was bandaged and we doubt why. Her house was on a hill and the road to the house was decayed. First, we took 6 packs that consist of stationaries. There were 12 of us, @ashen99, @anusha96, @sandu, @sandupi, @dasuni, @sandun98 @rasinkani @sasanka96, @roshipeiris @supunchandra my boyfriend, and me. After a difficult walk, we reached her house.

photo_2021-04-11_18-20-51.jpg

photo_2021-04-11_18-20-54.jpg

It was a small house with a sitting room and kitchen. There were no additional rooms. The walls of the room were decorated with Buddhist posters. There were 4 chairs and a bed to sit on. Only one child was there at the moment. The oldest child is 17 years old girl who is very good at studies. She had gone for a tuition class. The rest of the children had gone to the town with their father.

photo_2021-04-11_18-20-10.jpg

We had a long conversation with her. Her husband is having kidney disease and unable to do hard work. She said that her elder daughter wanted to stop education after O/L s but she pushed her daughter to go to school continuously. Due to the pandemic, tuition classes were conducted virtually, so the girl couldn't join it as they can not afford a mobile phone. So she had to work additionally to purchase herself a phone. Unfortunately, she fell down from her sister's bike and the arm is broken.

But still, she is going to work even her arm is not fixed properly.

photo_2021-04-11_18-20-19.jpg

While girls listening to her sad story, our boys again went to the vehicle to take the bags with other goods. They had to climb the mountain again.

photo_2021-04-11_18-22-22.jpg

photo_2021-04-11_18-22-17.jpg

After seeing the stuff she became more sensitive and started to cry. She said, some politicians promised her to renew the roof of the house but they never did that after the election. She said, "We want to live to take care of these kids, older children understand the situation but younger kids don't. I pay as I can for tuitions but the son only goes for Maths tuition as I can't afford any other"

She never requested anything from us other than thanking. I discussed with my boyfriend and handed over her 5000 LKR worth 25$ on my hand which can use to do so many things at her level.

photo_2021-04-11_18-20-32.jpg

I had a dream to help a low-income family with my own money. So I asked for her bank account so that I can send some money every month after I get my salary. It was a great pleasure to see if their lives get a little push from me.

photo_2021-04-11_18-20-16.jpg

photo_2021-04-11_18-20-13.jpg

photo_2021-04-11_20-04-49.jpg

photo_2021-04-11_20-04-45.jpg

photo_2021-04-11_18-20-41.jpg

SL-Charity Elpitiya is Completed!!

photo_2021-04-11_20-16-29.jpg

Sort:  

Good job everyone. Happy to see these young fellows helping others. Keep it up the good works 🌼

It was a great pleasure that we could help them. And everyone had worked hard for this. Those tears were the marks of happiness of her heart. Let's try to help them further as we can. I am glad that I could join such a event with Steem Sri Lanka members 💖.

I am so happy too.. May be they are enjoying our gifts now

yeah. This time they will have a happy new year for sure 😍.

Great Job by the team!!! 😍😍😍 This is one of the best initiatives we have made! Hope to do a big one soon with all of us

Satisfaction 💓

It was so nice that we could do something to help them❤️ They are really needed people.
A wonderful day! Thank you all for this unforgettable experience

great work.

It felt so good to go there and help them.
This'll only be the first season..

So I asked for her bank account so that I can send some money every month after I get my salary.

Really nice and great.!!
I feel so sorry for that family. You guys have done a great job!! 💕

Thanks Prasadi. You guys also did a good job

You are doing a great job I pray to God to give you more success. so that you can help people as much as possible. You think very well, I have read many of your posts and I am impressed ❣️

May you always be happy and safe.

Hi,

Thank you for your contribution to the Steem ecosystem.


If you would like to support us, please consider voting for our witness, setting us as a proxy,or delegating to the project by using one of the following links:
500SP | 1000SP | 2000SP | 3000SP | 4000SP | 5000SP | 10000SP | 100000SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57558.50
ETH 2437.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35