Surrounded by Insects, Under a Floral Vine!

in Steem Sri Lanka3 years ago

photo_2021-05-29_13-54-52.jpg

It's a calm Saturday with soft sunshine mixed with May wind. A pleasant fragrance called me to come to its side. It was the sharp but comfortable fragrance coming from Sathawari flowers. Sathawari, is a well-known herb, aka Hathawariya in our general life. If you haven't seen it yet, it is a vine with thorns. Leaves are thin and long.

If you know this vine, have you ever seen the flower of Sathawari? If not, let me show you. Sathawari has a very small beautiful flower. The flowers are blooming as bunches. There are thousands of small flowers in one bunch.

photo_2021-05-29_14-22-34.jpg

Sathawari flower has a sharp fragrance that motivates insects to attract there. Not only insects but also humans like me. Moring is the best time for the Sathawari flower. When I was in front of the plant, there were hundreds of bees, bugs, flys, and ants.

It was a wonderful feeling to be surrounded by hundreds of insects under a snow-looking floral vine. Let me show you some of the known and unknown insects.

photo_2021-05-29_13-55-06.jpg

How many flys you can see? Two here.. They were flying from flower to flower and enjoyed fresh honey (maybe). It wasn't easy to focus the camera on flys because they were that dynamic.

The vine is expanded to the roof and this area was the most pretties. Especially, there was something special I must tell you. It's a nest of Potter wasp a (Kumbala). Fortunately, the owner of the house was at home on this pleasant morning.

photo_2021-05-29_13-55-02.jpg

I had to climb on a chair to get a closer look at Potter's wasp. You can see his yellow stripes in his black-colored body. Potter wasp used drops of mud to build his nest. He has the ability to bind the particles of mud together. Aren't they wonderful?

A 1-2 cm insects building a nest by bringing mud using his small mandibles.

photo_2021-05-29_13-55-18.jpg

I could able to have one lucky shot before I finish the photoshoot. It's a butterfly. To me, it is challenging to capture butterflies. But today, he came so close. I think the fragrance attracts them from far away places.

The butterfly was a big one with black and white dots. He wasn't there for that long, but I was already ready prepared.

photo_2021-05-29_13-55-26.jpg

I just spend around 10-15 minutes under this vine.. Can you believe how much thrilled I was. That's how nature makes beautiful stories.

There were some strangers I have no idea about names. Give a try, let me know if you can recognize him from his back.
photo_2021-05-29_13-55-11.jpg


A pleasant day! Pleasant environment!


10% of the payout is allocated to @sl-charity

Sort:  

This flower looks beautiful and fragrant. we also had one at home. And it also a very good herb.

It is wonderful how, many species live around one plant.

There is a huge Hathawariya vine in our garden and I also enjoy the fragrance of Hathawariya Flowers. And Hathawariya fruits are also nice.

ahhh....Hathawariya fruits ??
tenor.gif

I love first two sentences of this writting. Attractive lines.😍

Nature bring us happy and make relaxed.

Nice explanation about environment. nice capture ahh..very beautifull . all photos nicely shown beauty of the nature.

OMG, this is in your place? You live in a paradise 😍
#onepercent #twopercent #affable

!upvote 50

Hey! We are sleeping now, we'll back soon.

Such a beautiful post thanks for sharing 👍🏾

Hi.. Thank you for stopping by🙂

Hi 👋🏾 hope you are well 👍🏾

It's my pleasure 🤝

Voted 100%

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66794.56
ETH 3501.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71