Weaving A Rug!

in Steem Sri Lankalast year

As I described in my previous posts, National Institute of Mental Health provides so many activities for the patients who is healthy enough to deal with their daily activities. Weaving rugs is one of the activities they are performing there. It brings them an income, also a self satisfaction. I think it gives them a chance to think that they are not alone and they also able to do something for fulfilling their needs. Cheers to the warriors!

So today I tried to do a rug weaving, and at least I learned the method. It requires a great amount of concentration. For improving concentration and attention this is used as a therapeutic activity.

See! This is how I weaved a rug.

First You need A Board Like this

IMG_20230717_172327.jpg

As you see in the picture, they use a board like this. Then a strong thread is going over the board, following a Zig Zag way. We need to do it using the pins on either side of the board. Thread should be a stretchable one and bound to the board strongly. Also it should be fully stretched.

Then You Need Cloth pieces

IMG_20230717_172340.jpg

These pieces also should be stretchable and should be added to the board following a specific pattern. This is so easy, but if you lose your concentration, the pattern will miss it's correct way. We use this long piece of cloth, and if the first one goes under the thread, the second one should go over the thread. That's the pattern of it.

I Could Not Finish My Rug

IMG_20230717_172252.jpg

Even I couldn't finish my rug, I learned about the therapeutic value of doing that activity. It's like a meditation. I know, we are not going to weave rugs in our homes nowadays and actually we can not find time for those things. But as an activity it's really an effective one.

So I like Rug weaving!💜️

Sort:  

But as an activity it's really an effective one.

And I think personally trying out these activities will give you chance to get more understanding about your patients.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56688.84
ETH 2388.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28