Journey from the Past to Maligawila

in Steem Sri Lanka2 years ago

Maligawila is a beautiful village in Monaragala. Also Maligavila temple is very famous place in sri Lanka.

IMG_20220701_213734.jpg

Source

The Maligawila Buddha statue is a standing figure of the Buddha in Sri Lanka, which has been carved out of a large limestone rock during the 7th century by a prince named Aggabodhi. It is the tallest free-standing ancient statue of the Buddha found in the country.
Source

We have a friend from Maligawila Village. Nearly It took 1/2 hours to go to Maligawila from Monaragala town. It's a rural area with natural beauty. So one day in 2019 my friend asked us to see his village and go to Maligawila temple. In those days we were very strong friends. I was at home for a university vacation and I accepted that lovely invitation very happily. I, Samu and Sahan were the invitees.

IMG_20220701_214450.jpg

Actually it's a beautiful village. We could experience the cool wind come from the huge rubber trees on the way to the Maligawila. First we went to the Maligawila temple.

It was my second journey to Maligawila temple. We went to visit the huge buddha statue I mentioned above, and walk here and there. The enviorenment was so quite and calm.

IMG_20220701_213721.jpg
Source
There are many trees in the temple garden, providing homes for thousands of animals. Especially for Monkeys. I remember when we offer an ice cream for a Monkey he took it and ate sitting on the road.

IMG_20220701_211815.jpg

After having lunch from my friend's home we decided to visit the river and the bridge. Bridge mean " වැල් පාලම". I was so excited to cross the bridge because the river was in it's journey in a very speed way under the bridge. Also the bridge was shaking badly because of the other people on the other side. But I loved the experience.

It was a lovely day that I laughed too much! 😍

Sort:  

When you said

Actually it's a beautiful village. We could experience the cool wind come from the huge rubber trees on the way to the Maligawila.

I felt it 😥💚

❤😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68289.77
ETH 2645.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70