Hello Baby Elephant!

in Steem Sri Lanka11 months ago

Yesterday was my baby elephant's birthday. He was born at Nawodaya centre of National institute of mental health. Nawodaya is an out side unit for out patients with mental illnesses. They visits the unit from their homes and engaging in various kind of activities to train for back to normal life. People who have suffered from various mental illnesses but capable of having a normal life are trained here to be financially independent in different ways. I think it's a blessing for them.

IMG_20230905_225132.jpg

As occupational therapy students we have to make an activity box to submit at the end. It consists of several things that similar to what patients are making. Before becoming a therapist, we should have an idea and purpose of such activities. That is the reason for that. Soft toys is one of those components which should be in our activity box. We choose a baby elephant as our soft toy and in Nawodaya, they help us to make our soft toy.

IMG_20230905_225605.jpg

First we draw the parts on a cloth and then cut for sewing. That sewing purpose was completely done by a supportive staff member for us. Then we have to fill padding and give birth to our baby elephant. Adding eyes, giving a ribbon bow finally made him so cute. Even um not familiar or good at those things it made me so happy.

SAVE_20230904_180618.jpg

On the way to the boarding I stopped at my best friend's office for a small chat and his office mate who I already know also joined with us. I took my baby elephant from my bag to show them. That's why I added that picture with baby elephant on the table. Baby elephant with these two beautiful mates took all my tiredness to give me a nice evening!

Sort:  

I think this is a spark of your field because you get to try new crafts like this.

Yes!❣️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59493.68
ETH 2649.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45