Holy Cross National Shrine ⛪steemCreated with Sketch.

in Steem Sri Lanka5 months ago

image.png

Today I am going to share some information about a place where I went recently, altogether with my own experience. First of all, I should admit that I am a Roman Catholic and my purpose is none other than sharing some information regarding the place where I went.

image.png
Source

A few days back, I went to Holy Cross National Shrine which is located in Marawila, Sri Lanka. Marawila is there in Puttalam district. The Holy Cross Shrine is called " Kurusa Palliya " in Sinhala or " Holy Cross National Shrine " in English.

image.png

If you are going there by private transport, you can get off by the gate and Google Maps will help you. But as I went there by public transport, at first I reached Marawila town on a Puttalam-Colombo bus.

There is a sub-road starting from the town to the church. There are minivans to take us to the church and you won't believe it costs only Rs.40/= per person.

image.png

This place is known to be a miraculous place. The church is located near the sea and the church is built on the sea sand. Only the altar and a tiny passage have been cemented and there is sand in the other areas.

Also, it is located next to a cemetery. On the cemented tiny passage, which is twenty meters or so that, separates the entrance from the altar, is walked by devotees on their knees. There is an only statue of Christ, surrounded by a simple wooden frame topped with a cross.

image.png

Every first Friday of the month is crowded with people. I also went there on such a day.

image.png

It was a very sunny day. The statue of Christ is the most special place there and is believed to be a miraculous statue among the people who come there. That's why there is a long queue to the statue. I saw something special there which is that no one crossed the queue.

I also walked in the queue to the statue and on the way it is like a ritual to pray silently while walking to the statue.

image.png

That day was a bit hard under the sunny weather. They have built a shelter too, but the queue is longer.

After doing religious things, as I was hungry we went to a cafe which was located in front of the church. T & Coffee was the name and they had gotten good food and beverages for affordable prices.

image.png

image.png

==============================================================

Thereafter we went to the beach.

There is a statue of Mother Mary by the beach too and it is making a nice view together.

image.png

image.png

We had a little walk even under that sunny weather.

Spent a little time there and we returned home.
image.png

References:
Source 1
Source 2

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68220.71
ETH 3321.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74