An Aesthetic shop Visit | Urban Island - Colombo

in Steem Sri Lanka2 years ago

Few weeks ago I got the chance to a place that I was dreaming to visit. It's a local shop selling local products ( Most are hand made) produced by local people. It's an aesthetic shop with lot's of items like clothing , foods, plants , books , jewellery and many items. The shop is called "urban Island" . I have seen these kind of shops in foreign YouTube channels. It's my first time at a shop like this.

IMG_20220511_095944.jpg

Location

Address
Urban Island
181 Srimath Anagarika Dharmapala Mawatha, Colombo 00700

IMG_20220511_100019.jpg

At the entrance of the shop there are racks filled with different kinds of plants including cactus and many more ... These plants are grown inside beautiful handmade pots. Each plant is priced over 1000 LKR.

IMG_20220511_100054.jpg

It's a two storey shop. In the first floor there are soo many handmade local products. This rack with crochet bears took my eye. These bears are product of a knitting project supporting women in Mulative distric. Buying these products helps their families to survive. More than buying Machine made thing these kind of hand made things have a real value and quality.

IMG_20220511_100122.jpg

This rack contains coconut oil products and different kind of organic tea bags. I've never seen these kind of pure coconut oil before.

IMG_20220511_100252.jpg

This notebook with a handmade casing catched my eye. It's made with cloth and the notebook is made out of recycled paper.

IMG_20220511_100339.jpg

There was a huge collection of clothing their for kids , women and men. These products are higher in price because of the quality.

IMG_20220511_100203.jpg

I found a section for books in the second floor. All books are children's books. Kid's section had lots of cute items like toys and garments. I wish I could spend more time there and buy something on my next visit.

I got the chance to go there because my sister in law has a shop of leather products. She make genuine leather products and her products are on the shop for sale. Unfortunately due to the current situation of srilanka foreigner arrival has been decreased and the sales have dropped. It's a great damge to handcraft industry. Local producers should have the chance to overcome this situation and have a good market for their products.

Sort:  

Rear experience.

Yes it is

These bears are product of a knitting project supporting women in Mulative district. Buying these products helps their families to survive.

this is very good. I never heard about this before. That's sad current situation impacted all businesses. I wish a good time sooner

There were many items produced by such projects. Unfortunately we can't see any good sign yet 🥺

I think I have seen this shop while passing by but could never go inside... seems like there are lots of interesting products there

You should have a tour there. You'll love it 🥰

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56576.23
ETH 3024.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29