Sleep or Work (Rain Contest) - 5% for SL-Charity

in Steem Sri Lanka3 years ago (edited)

We are expecting rain these days because of the storm around Andaman and Nicobar islands. But last two days we had less rainfall compared to the previous week but according to the forecast again we have to face heavy rainfall and wind from the mid of next week.

1637205100368.jpg

Since I spend these days at home I didn't face any issue with rain. But people were badly suffered from it. Their day-to-day works were interrupted because of rain and since schools are reopened, children also faced many difficulties attending schools because we had the heaviest rainfall in the morning. The majority who live in coastal lines are doing fishing, but because of the storm condition, they have to think twice before going to the sea.

ඇළ දොළ ගලා බස්වන්නට ඉවුරු කඩා
ගොඩබිම නිවා සනහන්නට සියලු විඩා
ගන වැහි වලා ඉගිලී එන විටදි අඩා
මට මහ සොම්නසක් ඇත මොණරකුට වඩා

As the poem says I observed that peacocks are not looking for shelter when it's raining like other birds.

I had faced floods twice during my lifetime, and my mother was feared we would face them again because the rain was so heavy and continuous. But luckily the upper part of our district (Deniyaya, Morawaka, and Kotapola) had less rain than our areas. If they also had heavy rain, that water flows to our areas in two-three days and creates a flood. We experienced that kind of situation in 2017.

1637205257153.jpg

Normally I have a walk with my dog in the evening, but I was not able to bring her these days with me because we heard that there is a crocodile in our sanctuary who tried to attack some dogs. Other than that I can not control her when she started to play in muddy water.

These days farmers are preparing their fields and starting to spread seeds. If it is the harvesting time they will face big trouble because of this rain.

2.jpg

Streams are filled with water and flow very quickly. So it is not a good time to bathe, because they are extremely dangerous with that form.

1637205100356.jpg

When I was writing a report I saw this beautiful scene through the window. I saw a rainbow after a very long time. Either I have not kept alert towards nature, or actually, a rainbow has been created after a long time. I don't know. I'm sure the view I witness from my naked eye is far more beautiful than this image.

1.jpg

Yesterday morning a three-wheeler slipped and turned upside down because of the slippery road just in front of our home. Luckily the driver had no injury. It is hard to drive these days because of the mist and slippery roads. Therefore please be careful.

Another best thing is we can sleep wholesomely, because of the rainy condition. However that's a selfish thought, many are suffering from this extreme rainy condition. I wish they will have a good time again, with normal weather patterns.

Finally, I would like to thank @randulakoralage for organizing this contest!

Sort:  

you can compromise between negative values caused by rain with positive values. These are two contradictory things that both happen when it rains. Can you tell which kind of rain makes you happy?

Normally I like rain, as Sri Lankans we have two monsoon seasons. We expect those and get ready for them. It's totally normal.

But recently we are experiencing some extreme weather patterns which brings lots of troubles to people. Heavy rainfall causes damages to both properties and livelihoods.

Rain brings lot of troubles for the farmers...

Yes! They are the main victims

Hi, @janindu,

Thank you for your contribution to the Steem ecosystem.


Please consider voting for our witness, setting us as a proxy,
or delegate to @ecosynthesizer to earn 100% of the curation rewards!
3000SP | 4000SP | 5000SP | 10000SP | 100000SP

Thank you!

three-wheeler slipped and turned upside down because of the slippery road just in front of our home.

rain makes such unfortunate situations. We must pay attention when driving a lot.

The majority who live in coastal lines are doing fishing, but because of the storm condition,

I heard that they were asked to not to go for fishing these days. me rate hamadma thalenne ekama kotasak

I was not able to bring her these days with me because we heard that there is a crocodile in our sanctuary who tried to attack some dogs.

oh crocodiles? that's dangerous. Ape ballath naanna enna kiwwama peralenwa. wahinwa nam ithin pare thamai

Thank you for the nice entry

oh crocodiles? that's dangerous.

Yes, they are hoping to build a crocodile park and free crocodiles that are captured from nearby areas to the sanctuary. But I think there's no proper plan.

Dedunnak dakka kalayak mataka na. Deniyaya patte diya eli ehema tiyenawa neda?

Dedunnak dakka kalayak mataka na

Then I'm not the only one 😁

Deniyaya patte diya eli ehema tiyenawa neda

ඔව් ඒ වටේට ගොඩක් තියනව, වැස්ස කාලෙට තමයි ලස්සනම.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81