Escape To The Hills– Day 01

in Steem Sri Lanka3 months ago

WhatsApp Image 2024-03-23 at 9.42.07 PM (1).jpeg

Since we had spent busy and stressful days, we needed to relax in a calm environment. So, when thinking about a place, Nuwaraeliya came to our mind. Since we didn’t go there for a long time and, we didn’t have a chance to go there together, we thought to plan a trip to Nuwaraeliya.

As I remember the last time I went to Nuwaraeliya was our school’s annual trip in Grade 12. So, I have never been there for so long. If my family members had decided to go there, we normally used a Van. Therefore, I had a little innocent dream about going to Nuwaraeliya by Train. I have heard some people say that it would be really fun if we can use Train to go there. And also, I have heard that we can see the beauty of the hills if we can use Train. This was the same for my husband. So, we decided to use train for this time. We hope it will be long-lasting memory to us.

When thinking about a train, the name was came to our mind is Ella Odyssey train. So, we were able to book the 1st class seats of that train. The start time has been mentioned as 5.30 am from colombo fort. Since there are no buses and we hire a three-wheeler to go to Colomo fort to catch the train. We went there around 5 am and waited for our train. Finally, it came around 5.15 am as I remember now. We found our seat. Actually, they are so comfortable, and the AC facility was also in that 1st class section. Since it was my first time traveling in 1st class of a train to Nuwaraeliya, I was very excited at that moment when thinking about the rest of our journey. So, at exactly 5.30 am our journey started.

WhatsApp Image 2024-03-23 at 9.42.07 PM.jpeg

I brought some cakes, biscuits, chocolate and some snacks for our journey. And also, we bought some food from the canteen on the train as well. After arriving to the Kandy, the train started to drive from the other end. Then the helper in the train told us to turn our seats to the other side. I think this facility is only available in the 1st class.


WhatsApp Image 2024-03-23 at 9.42.07 PM (2).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-03-23 at 9.42.07 PM (3).jpeg

We went through many tunnels, tea estates and forests. I cannot explain the beauty of nature in a few words. The view becomes more and more beautiful. We arrived at Nanu Oya railway station at around 12.30 pm and we went to Nuwaraeliya town around 1.00 pm. Since our check-in time for the hotel room was 2.00 pm, we had few hours. Hence, we had our lunch before going to our hotel room.

WhatsApp Image 2024-03-23 at 9.42.07 PM (4).jpeg

After having our lunch, we hired a vehicle to go to our hotel room. We booked a room from one of the cottages in Little England cottages. Its name is Little England by Joes. I will tell you about this place in a separate article. Because I cannot explain that experience in a few words.

We had some rest and went to check the beauty of this place. It was so beautiful. Actually, I feel it was like a good therapy for our mind. This cool and calm environment relaxes our stressful life for a few days. See you all in another article.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56446.21
ETH 2966.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.17