To explore cultures….

in Steem Sri Lanka2 years ago

20230216_133412.jpg

Window seat in a bus is a very good place to overthink and when you get into overthink, you rarely notice what you are looking through the window. In such a moment when I usually get lost in my own thoughts, I saw a poster. I could read it before the bus started moving. The poster was about an exhibition that was happening in BMICH 17th – 20th (I guess) which is on Pakistani Lifestyle. From what I heard, this exhibition happens in every year but I hadn’t ever been to it. I thought of checking that exhibition out because I was supposed to go to Bambalapitiya for lectures anyway.

20230216_134004.jpg

I had lots of expectations on this exhibition and had high expectations on cloths and food. It was not a busy exhibition as the other mainstream exhibitions that happen in BMICH. And they were less stalls than I expected to find. Many of them were clothing stalls where majority of them are judithas and kurthas and few scarfs. There were few jewelry and beauty care stalls. One or two bag and carpet stalls. Kurthas and Judithas that I found there were not really my type of things, but I could find a nice scarf for me since I have a soft corner for scarfs. I didn’t forget to do a little photoshoot with my new scarf when I stepped outside.

IMG_2270.jpg

There was a performance floor on one side where people sing and play drums. It is welcome even for the people who visited the exhibition. This is the best part I like because I think that what contains more cultural aspects than what I found in the stalls.

20230216_135154.jpg

I was so excited to try food from Pakistani cuisine but I was disappointed to find that there were only few food stalls and they were not necessarily Pakistani.

20230216_151553.jpg

I went in with so many expectations, but I left the place with the question whether it did justice to the term “Pakistani lifestyle”.

Thanks for reading!

Have a nice day!

Sort:  

That scarf is nice🥰

My selections 🙈

I also haven’t heard about this exhibition.

It's not that famous apparently.

ohh! It's already finished. Btw that scarf is nice.

I was happy to find that scarf there 🙈

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64166.71
ETH 2765.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72