Internship

in Steem Sri Lankalast year

ian-dooley-DJ7bWa-Gwks-unsplash.jpg

Photo by ian dooley on Unsplash

Since it’s my finale year in the uni, we have to start our internships. We realized that it’s not that easy to find internships when it’s only a 40hour internship and we gotta attend lectures too. I selected teaching as if it’s something I’m familiar with, so it will be easy for me to balance both uni and work.

The place I ended up with is a nearby government school that we went for a teaching camp in the previous semester. It was only a three hour teaching camp that we had. Few girls who were in my group told me to come as a teacher to that school once I graduated. I said yes just trying not to be harsh, knowing very well that I would not choose to be a government teacher as my career path. But lil did I know that I would end up in this school not few months after that conversation.

To be honest, this was not my first option. I had this in my mind as plan B because I knew that it’s not gonna be an easy ride with the cultural demographics and the below average competency level. I applied for couple of international schools and got few offers back too. I almost selected one other place but had to let go of because of some issues. I thought of going for my plan B, instead of considering other offers that I got. One of my batchmates have already selected that school for internship.

cdc-GDokEYnOfnE-unsplash.jpg

Photo by CDC on Unsplash

We met the principal and discussed about our and their requirements. They were so happy after hearing this and the first thing that the English teacher told after hearing this is “ane wasanawan.” I realized that I made the right decision seeing how happy they were at this arrangement.

So it was decided that we would work their two days per week and we will focus more on spoken English. I’ll come back more with my new experience.

Thanks for reading.

Have a nice day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59378.58
ETH 2646.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46