Farewell to 2023 and hi to 2024

in Steem Sri Lanka6 months ago (edited)

31st night is the link between what is about to end and what's gonna begin. We try to spend that time together as a family to celebrate the new year together. Since I also started working, both my sis and I had to work on the 1st. In our usual routine, we would start to Colombo on the 1st morning itself, however, our daily routine is affected now since the backbone of our fam; dad broke his left wrist in an accident. He can't drive us to the highway bus now, and we didn't want to trouble anyone on the new year morning itself to give us a ride. So sadly, my sis and I decided to go to Colombo on 31st eve itself. It is when my sis came up with an idea to make me feel not upset in spending the new year alone.

She suggested that we can stay together and join her friends to go to Galle Face I midnight. I was over the moon at this arrangement bcz we two can at least celebrate the new year together. My sis booked a hotel in walking distance to Galle face and told her friends to fetch us from there when they are going to Galle face at night. I was feeling very down on having to stay alone in the 31st night for the first time in my life, but my mood quickly switch to excitement after planning this.

20231231_180457.jpg

The first thing we did in that evening is going to ccc and spend time on eating snacks there. There was a solo singer who had selected all my favorite songs and sang them in a nice tone. The atmosphere was very soothing that day.

IMG-20240101-WA0137.jpg

We went back to the hotel to rest until we start to Galle face around midnight. If we walked, it's only a 10mins walk from our place to Galle face. However, since our friends came in a car to fetch us, we took it. Many cross roads were closed that day and there was an extreme traffic jam in the Galle road. It took 45mins for us to drive 2km distance. This was the only annoying part of the day.

IMG-20240101-WA0140.jpg

What i had in my mind when thinking of 31st night at Galle face is fireworks alone. But I was not ready for that much of crowd and noise. I brought a shawl thinking that it might be chilly at night, but it was not cold at all since we couldn't get any wind due to thè crowd.

20231231_233446.jpg
Last selfie for 2023

We spent some time there enjoying the fireworks and gossiping, and we all went back to our places with a fresh mindset to start the new year on a happy note.

Thanks for reading!

Have a nice year!

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57899.47
ETH 3134.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39