Barbie

in Steem Sri Lanka9 months ago

The movie “Barbie” created a huge sensation captivating the hearts of people across many countries. When it comes to Sri Lanka, this must be one of the few instances which creates a costume trend for a movie. It was a very common site to see people of all ages wearing pink colour when there is a show time of Barbie. At the same time, Barbie was faced with both negative and positive comments. I was feeling curious to watch it by myself and see to what extent those criticisms and appreciations become accurate in my eyes. However, I couldn’t find a time to watch this. It was when this happened. We were asked to watch the movie for one of our modules, so I had to find time to watch it.

WhatsApp Image 2023-08-20 at 18.03.09.jpeg

I asked my sis n bro to take me to watch the movie and some of my friends joined too. We also tried to stick into a sort of a pink theme without making it so obvious. Theater was still crowded even though it has been over a month of the released date. I was very excited to watch the movie and also I wanted to take some points into my head to bring to the discussion in the lecture.

20230813_211209.jpg

I absolutely dislike the movie! So did my friend. We two were sharing our thoughts while watching the movie and we were so sure that we would have nothing positive to bring to the lecture. My personally opinion is that they have forced feminism in a commercialized way to achieve their commercialized way. Ofc, it has to be profit-oriented by being a cinematic product. Nonetheless, I think it only forcefully pretend to be feminist as it fails to capture the essence of the concept. Anyway, this is my personal opinion and I’m still learning about feminism, so my opinion may not be the most accurate one. Yet, I expected more from the movie but it failed me a big time. What is your experience about the movie?

Thanks for reading!

Have a nice day!

Sort:  

Worth to read this. If I didn't read this I would have gone to watch barbie within this week for sure

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 68636.49
ETH 3719.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75