I replaced my laptop hard drive with a super fast SSD | 5% for sl-charity

in Steem Sri Lanka3 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemers!

Last year I replaced my laptop mechanical hard drive (HDD) with a solid-state drive (SSD). It was branded as Kingston and I ordered it from Ali express. Now you can see. Do not ever order a hard drive or pen drive from Ali express. I mean it. Still, it was working, but the speed is not reliable at all. So finally I decided to remove it within 1 day of my previous upgrade. My old HDD was my main drive until last Wednesday.

IMG_8522.JPG

I ordered a 500GB SSD from Dehiwala Nanotek computer solutions. It was a Samsung one. The model name is Samsung EVO 870. Since my laptop does not have an M.2 slot, this was the best option I had. Now I’m totally happy with the results.

05CA0DAF-5A31-440C-8A62-C9B8B7794C8B.jpg

In the market, there were few SSD brands such as Add link, Gigabyte, Transcend, and Kingston. I compared all of those with the Samsung one and it beat all of these with a significant margin. So I decided to go for this 500GB SSD. The only bad thing was it is 6000LKR more expensive than other models which cost me 21,000LKR with delivery charges.

E1FDBC7A-6203-4590-9252-C844FCC5F142.jpg

Since I had an original window 10 licence key, I prepared a bootable windows installation to my pen drive. After replacing the HDD from SSD by removing the cover of my laptop, I finished the installation process in no time. It really surprised me about the speed of windows installation. After the installation of all the necessary software, I did some testing. Game loading times are much faster now. Even the laptop starts just after I press the power button. By seeing this, I recommend you install an SSD if you have an old laptop. It will work as a new computer again. I hope you like my article today.


Installation process on Youtube

Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

After replacing the HHD from SSD by removing the cover of my laptop, I finished the installation process in so time

Did you do it by your self? 🙊 can you?

Here is the proof ssd

He is one who does that for me also 🙊.

Another proof.😉😁🥰

using a SSD is really good. I also have M2 hard drive. if I didn't had it, I know how much trouble I would have faced.

Yeah. It is faster than my SSD also. It's good to have very fast read and write speeds.

you are great, did it yourself, SSD is very suitable for old lettops, whether all types of lattops can be tested. you master about lattop, amazing😍

Thank you very much dr...

Man, this article made me wanna buy a ssd. My lap isn't either that slow or fast.. may be near future, I may have to try an ssd..

Yeah. It will be an energy boost for your laptop.

500GB SSD means a lot. I am using 120GB (Samsung) one. See we are far behind than you ....

Actually, 120GB is fine for a boot drive if you're not playing large games. You're to the point.😁

These days every item counts a lot. But a 21000 is a reasonable price for 500GB SSD

Yeah. Everything is expensive now. Better to buy the thing we want very soon.

Recently, the window has had a lot of positive changes. one of them is when we install it. I also really like using it.

Good to hear👌

once in a while can you take me to play a game

I more preferred with transcend ssd s. Recently I replaced my 500gb ssd with an 1tb ssd cause I’m a huge game lover🤪

Yeah. These days games are very huge files.

The only bad thing was it is 6000LKR more expensive than other models which cost me 21,000LKR with delivery charges.

Oops😑 I need to replace the hard in my laptop too.I never thought it would be so expensive

Smaller capacity models are cheaper than this. I suggest you put an SSD.

Tutorial video is very usful 😊 Thanks😎

Thanks bro.❤

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65904.42
ETH 2618.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67