FLASHBACK OF QUARANTINE DIARIES| Steem Sri Lanka: Contest Series – Week 03 | From Social Beings to ALIENS.

in Steem Sri Lanka3 years ago

covid-19-4949163_1280.jpg
Source

My quarantine diary is feeling revered now because it got it's confidant in the form of steem srilanka to share its story with . it is going to tell you my story in three parts, first one is life at home, second is life outside duty, and third is life on duty. Being a working medical professional, I was never quarantined like others . I feel privileged to work in a sector which is bound to serve 24x7. We have to work even when people are sleeping . We have to work when people are hiding themselves underground at the times of war . We have to work when people are quarantined for the fear of contacting virus. And we have to work with those who unfortunately contacted the virus. I feel proud to serve the people at times of need like a good friend. It is not something that happened only during covid pandemic but we are used to all this and we are made for the same
. But the question remains, wasn't there any change in our lives than ? Answer remains, yeah there was and here we go ;

IMG_20201027_201937.jpg On thermal screening duty at railway station

Life at home

IMG_20201027_202801.jpg
At home wearing home made mask

Being yuunger son of my parents and bachelor too, I am being taken care by my parents like a suckling. I am always surrounded by my family and grand family members, especially the kids, when I am at home. After returning from duty, the first room to enter was washroom made outside of my home. This washroom of ours was originally made with the intent of being used during family functions like marriages etc. I used to bath here and wash my clothes too. After that I used to move towards my room where I qurantined myself and where no body was allowed to enter . I always presumed, I may have contacted virus while consulting patients and never wanted my family to suffer because of me. I urged my parents to keep food on table outside my room in disposable containers and than I used to bring that in and eat and dispose the containers in a bin and later dispose off. I used to wash my washroom before leaving home and also my clothes on daily basis because I wanted my family not to come in contact with any of the items that I had put on or touched. My heart always palpitated, when my little cousin used to knock my door and I kept silent, not opening the door. Than she was returned crying by telling her lies that , "bro is sleeping". And least not the last, my mom still used to come and stay at door of my room snd say ; FOR SOCIAL DISTANCING, 3 FEET DISTANCE IS REQUIRED AND I AM SITTING AT 10 FEET DISTANCE. It used to melt me down and make prayers to GOD for long life of my parents. So covid forcefully turned me into an ALIEN from a very social being.

Life outside duty

In village life, you are known to most of the people in your locality. So as a responsible, inhabitant of the locality, I used to pick up known people on way in my car and drop them somewhere on way according their convenience. But during covid, as part of social distancing, I had to give it up and many a times people felt bad about it. I felt sorry for not being able to help them. So covid made me self centered from self less
.

Life on duty

IMG_20201027_202333.jpg
On Quarantine Duty

Covid turned us into ghosts donned with awkward clothes from head to toe. We developed obsession by compulsionof washing hands with alcohol based hand rub . As part of social distancing, we kept patients far away from ourselves for fear of patients getting infected from us or vice versa. As a result that sense of satisfaction, was missing in both patients and doctors. As part of health advisory, dental procedures were abandoned and patient had to be satisfy with medicine only. Fear of contacting virus, made us to hide blood pressure apparatuses and avoid unnecessary BP check ups, as we earlier used to do. Last but not least, patients were not touched unless it was Inevitable emergency. Duty at quarantine / isolation centres was very toxic. We weren't not allowed to be inside the hospital premesis but instead we were provided tents and to stay in tents with PPEs put on during scorching heat is frustrating.My head post covid duties, used to ache like hell. Making rounds to positive patients demands lot of passion for work. Nothing else in the world, can drove anyone closer to any deadly agent like covid virus etc other than your passion. Sad part of story is people seen in social media thinking money as driving force. Anyone here with such mentality is challanged by me to take money and give duty in isolation centres. Don't forget, we were made to work like robots, we never knew where we are supposed to be present next day, Rosters kept changing frequently

Life in a hospital with grandmother

IMG_20201027_195643.jpg
Grandmother in hospital| 3QP6+X4 Srinagar, Jammu and Kashmir

I always tried to stay away from my grandmother because being elderly and having undelying comirbid conditions like hypertension and diabetes, she was at risk. She was so much stressed during the initial days that she literally used to turn pale on hearing news about covid deaths. Stress depressed her immunity to the extent that she developed severe infection of kidney for which we had to admit her at tertiary centre. We have to admit her for one month there. We literally brought her back from death table. We tested her twice for COVID but she turned to be negative. Grandmother back to home with me and brother

We were happy to see her back at home .

Love life

My gf lives at a distance of about 100 metres only from my hospital. It is not like that, i fall in love after being posted there. But believe me, we had relationship since 10 years and it was just 19 months back that i was posted there by chance. So, in that connection, even covid could not stop us from meeting .. . . Haha.... True love. I feel sorry for those love birds, who couldn't meet during pandemics. Anyways, i believe, it taught them patience and deepend their affection.

Lessons learnt

  • Covid taught me to be self reliant - be it living in a single room, be it washing clothes / cleaning room/ washroom etc.

  • Covid taught me, how to cope stress. That is by yoga , meditation , talking with jolly friends and avoiding people with negative temperaments.

  • Covid taught us to have war like preapredness on our part that is, to be ready on toes to go anywhere at anytime.

  • To practice social distancing, respiratory etiquette, hand hygiene on regular basis.

  • Covid pandemic further strengthened the view of , "Union is strength". Certain loop holes in tackling the pandemic lead to upsurge in cases and unified response later lead to rapid downsutge, making us to learn a lesson that unified response and global solidarity are always need of hour.

  • Scores of people died of hunger and Inaccesibilty to health facility, in this regard, we need to improve a lot in certain sectors like health and economy. And at individual level, we must always be ready tend a helping hand to needy.

  • We shifted our learning mode form offline to online. we weee officially ordered to take online course on covid and for which i got 10 certiricates for different covid themes.

Sort:  

it seems like you have had a tough time during this covid-19 pandemic.

So, in that connection, even covid could not stop us from meeting .. . . Haha.... True love. I feel sorry for those love birds, who couldn't meet during pandemics.

and very much lucky on this topic. 😍😍

you have learnt many things during this time.

thank you for participating. good luck.
stay safe. 😍

Thank you for being around.

 3 years ago (edited)

My heart always palpitated, when my little cousin used to knock my door and I kept silent, not opening the door.

It is a sensitive moment 😑 And also hard to face.

Good luck for the contest friend 🤗
Stay safe

Thank a lot.

Your post has been upvoted by Steem Sri Lanka community curator.

Thanks for supporting.

I am feeling sad🥺🥺🥺🥺

Being a doctor in the pandemic era is a huge challenge right. You are working hard in outside and even for your family and love.

In India with its population, it is so difficult to capture every case I guess. We regularly listen in news about India and their effort of fighting against COVID. We are proud you also a part of that army.

I wish to settle the situation soon!

I am feeling sad🥺🥺🥺🥺

Don't be

In india cases have begun dipping down but people are not following SOPs. Winter is approaching and cases may flare up and that is worrisome.

Respect to the all health workers, including you, who are committed in this pandemic situation..❤

All the very best and stay safe.😍

You are doing a great job friend. Massive respect. When people started to identify their social responsibility, this will fade away eventually. Say safe

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17