Coconut oil making on our own | 5% for SL Charity

in Steem Sri Lanka3 years ago

Hello Friends,

image.png

src

A talk occurred about that there is a harmful component mixed with the coconut oil at the market recently. You may remember that. Since then we started making coconut oil for us from the coconuts we have. Now that talk isn't there. But still, we make coconut oil than buying it as t is better to make what we can for ourselves than trusting vendors or companies.

Before the talk about this harmful oil, we also bought coconut oil from the shops. But my mother used to make a little amount of oil for us to apply on hair. They are so good to hair and have shown results. Though mum made a small amount, we haven't thought of making oil for the kitchen uses.

I said that we made them. But it is not like we are making it at home like how my mother makes for hair. We prepare coconut and go to a mill to make oil. But it feels safer.

20210906_163055.jpg

Today evening, I heard a sound and I knew that my family has started a sweet chat while doing something together. So I wanted to peek too and went there. They were cutting coconut into small parts. After cutting we dry them in sunlight and when they are dried enough we go to the mill and take back coconut milk. So easy.

20210906_163132.jpg

I have never gone with father to the mill. But my brother has gone once and told me that there is something that we get after having the oil and it is tasty. As I know it is something used as animal food. I remember when my mother makes coconut oil at home. She uses a large pot for it. But at the end gets only a little amount of oil. However, it is enough for us for applying on hair. After the oil is taken out of the pot, something is there in the pot. We call it "thelka" and it is so tasty. But mother doesn't allow me to eat a lot of them as eating too much of it can cause tummy aches. Anyhow I managed to eat as much as I want🤭 If you have ever made coconut oil at home, you may have eaten thelka. If you haven't tried, try oneday.

If you too have more coconut in your home, it will be more suitable if you do this than buying. This is not only about oil but also anything we buy. Have a think of it.

Thank you all! Stay Safe..

Sort:  

in our home, we also prepare coconut oil that we want. that homemade coconut oil not harm to our body. May be it have some harmful chemicals. But I am pretty sure that oil healthier than oil in the market.

Yeah, homemade things are healthier. How can we trust the companies or sellers ..

We also prepare coconut oil using our coconut. I have eaten telka before. it is tasty but it can cause other issues 😅.

Yeah, that is why my mom doesn't let me eat a lot😂

My parents also used to remove coconut oil with a little help from a squeezer, but before that, the coconut was left rotten and grated. I still remember my parents did it easily, I helped my mother at that time I saw that it was easy but it was difficult to do, many step by step .. this is a natural recipe that you gave

'Thelka'

I've never tasted that before. looks good but my mom didn't say it would be eaten.

Thelka may have another word in your language. I don't know its english word.

Thank you dear for sharing your experience with us about this 😊

it's just a word difference😊

my mother also makes oil for our use. Actually they are increased the taste of the food also. And also healthy friendly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 54373.44
ETH 2875.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.05