My Favorite Cartoon| Steem Sri Lanka 3G Contest Series| Week 03 | Dennis the Menace/ Dangaya

in Steem Sri Lanka4 years ago (edited)

In my childhood, I used to watch cartoons every evening and in the morning too. Those days, there were several interesting and popular cartoons among our school buddies. I specially preferred watching cartoons that were telecasted on Sirasa TV and Jathika Rupavahini. Now I can’t remember how I managed to do my school homework in the evening, playing with my neighbouring friends and watching my favourite cartoons as well.

image.png
src

Speciall greetings to @ashen99 for organizing this beautiful contest to bring back those memories again.

When I saw this interesting contest at first, I couldn’t pick out exactly one cartoon name for a moment among the list of my favourite cartoons which were popped in my mind in just a second. Scooby-Doo, Soora Pappa, Giripura Aththo, Tin Tin, Kubichchi, Hylander are some of them. Those were the days!

I decided what the cartoon I am going to write is. “Dennis the Menace” I know, you all may definitely know Dennis. I watched the Sinhala dubbed version telecasted on Sirasa TV, named “Dagaya”.

image.png

src

Now I don’t exactly remember when it was telecasted and what the time was. As far as I can remember, it was telecasted on Saturday or Sunday or maybe on both days, and it was a time in the morning. I got up in a hurry early in the morning to watch it. I didn’t have much time to watch cartoons in the morning on school days. So I think it should be Saturday or Sunday. I should be in grade 4 or 5.

Anyhow, I was a very little kid when I was watching that. I remember my mother also joined me when it was time to watch “Dagaya”. She also preferred it that much. I think there is no age limit for watching cartoons. Still, if I see “Dennis the Menace” is being telecasted on TV, I stop by there to watch it, and whatever I was doing will not be matter to me more.

The story

You all know Dennis is a little kid who is so naughty and mischievous. That’s why the Sinhala cartoon was named “Dagaya”. Both his mother and father, Mrs Alice Mitchell and Mr Henry Mitchell are employed. Then, they have to accompany a nanny to look after little Dennis when they left for work. The nanny who comes to look after Dennis today, will not be able to come again tomorrow, or they will no longer interested in Dennis, they refuse to come again due to his behaviour.😂😂😂 It was that much hard to look after this naughty little kid.

image.png
Dagaya

His gang comes to the party

Dennis had a pet dog, named “Ruff”. In the Sinhala cartoon, its name was “Kira”. And also he had a gang of friends. His best friend was Joey ( in the Sinhala version, his name was “Podda”) and other friends were Margaret, Gina and there was another talented boy but I don’t remember what his name was. Ruff was always behind the little Dennis when he was eating, sleeping, bathing, playing or whatever he was doing; Ruff was there with Dennis every single time. Dennis and Joey always tried to ignore Margaret and Gina and not getting involved with those two girls while playing.

image.png
His gang

When mother and father are not at home, little Dennis uses some kind of tricks and runs away from home without getting caught by his nanny. Then he plays with Ruff and sometimes with his friends. And from now on, almost all the interesting things are going to happen and one of my other favourite character enters the story. He is Mr Wilson, the neighbour of Mitchell’s family. Only Mr and Mrs Wilson lived in that house. Mr Wilson was the one who mostly suffered because of the naughtiness of Little Dennis. Whatever Uncle Wilson is going to do, Dennis comes and ruin everything every single time. That's really funny.😂😂😂

Wilson uncle

image.png

Mr. Wilson

Actually, Dennis is totally innocent and unaware of he is going to make such a big mess. He loves so much to visit Wilson uncle’s home, then aunty treats him with some delicious homemade biscuits, cakes or sweets and after eating them, little Dennis goes to see Wilson, uncle. At such times, when Wilson uncle is doing something, little Dennis thinks he should help uncle and do something to help him, then it turns in to a total mess and uncle has to face a lot of troubles more than how those things were before. 😂😂😂

If Wilson uncle had been painting, little Dennis comes and do something, then the paint bucket will definitely fall on the Wilson uncle’s head. That was so funny to see Wilson uncle’s reactions after Dennis ruining everything. If uncle had been fixing something of the roof by using a ladder, he will definitely fall fromthe ladder. If uncle had been gardening and appreciating his well-grown vegetables, fruits and flower plants, little Dennis runs in a hurry into his garden exactly the same moment and make something that will destroy all the plants and everything in just a few seconds. And also it was so funny to hear what Dennis says to uncle after making each and every mess and how uncle is screaming. 😁😁😁

And also, those days, every single time I watch this cartoon, little me had a very big question in my mind, Dennis’s forehead was totally covered by his yellow hair, but however, his eyebrows were visible through his hair. How could it possible? 😂😂😂

image.png

src

I think Sinhala dubbing had added so many funny conversations. Each and every conversation of this cartoon made little me so happy. Still, whenever I see “Dennis the Menace”, it brings me again exactly the same feeling I was having while I was watching it for the first time as a little kid. Still, it is the same.

Thank you!
Best Regards!

Sort:  

Entry 57
Hi @damithudaya Aiye 😉

Thank you for joining my contest.
I also watched that cartoon with great interest.
"Adath mokak hari waraddakda dn na(Dagayaa)"

Your post has been upvoted by Steem Sri Lanka Community Curation Trail.

Steem Sri Lanka Discord Channel

✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵

Join With
steem-sri.lanka
Curation Trail For Better Curation Rewards

Cartoonth balannat welawak tibbada.

mama eccr busy na e kale... 😂😂😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63220.55
ETH 2560.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80