Visited the Kahatapitiya Forest Hermitage on Unduvap Full Moon Poya DaysteemCreated with Sketch.

in Steem Sri Lanka4 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone!!

IMG-20201229-WA0063-1.jpg
Night sky with the full moon

Yesterday was the Unduvap Poya Day and was the last full moon poya day of the year. Buddhists visit the temples every poya day as a ritual of worship. So yesterday I visited the Kahatapitiya Forest Hermitage with my family members. It is a Buddhist forest monastery founded by ven situated in the village of Kahatapitiya, Galle district.

IMG-20201229-WA0053.jpg
Sakman Maluwa

I've been here first time and it was a great experience to me because we went there in late in the evening. It was almost near to 7 pm when we were started our walk through the forest. Not only that it was started raining heavily at that time. But we continued our walk in spite of the rain. We got wet in rain, but it made another happy moment.

IMG-20201229-WA0032.jpg

IMG-20201229-WA0047.jpg
Beautiful snails

As it was raining and got dark, there were little creatures besides the foot path. Oh! I found beautiful snails on the way. I didn't forget to captured them for you. The whole environment was calm and quiet. The silence is broken by only the crickets singing. Crickets are small insects who chirping loudly.

IMG-20201229-WA0050.jpg
On the way

This forest hermitage is a place for Buddhist monks to meditate. There were footpaths made to do walking meditation for monks. As well as there were meditation chambers to do meditations. The forest environment provides a peaceful and silence status suit for meditations. When I was stepping through the forest I felt the cold breeze. It was relaxed my mind.

IMG-20201229-WA0043.jpg
Entrance to the Udamaluwa

At the end of foot path there were stairs to climb up. Little by little we reached the top of the hermitage. There was an entrance to the Udamaluwa. It was normal as other Buddhist temples consist with Chaitya, Bodhi tree and Buddha statue. We worshipped there by offering flowers to Lord Buddha, lighting the lamps and burning incense sticks.

IMG-20201229-WA0024.jpg
Chaitya and Bodhi tree

IMG-20201229-WA0052.jpg
Buddha statue

We spent lot of time there and did the religious activities as the Buddhists. As it was got very dark and heavy raining we headed back along the foot path by enjoying the cool environment besides the way. Actually it was a nice experience to me at the end of the year. Hope to go there again in the morning to take another kind of experience.

IMG-20201229-WA0060.jpg

IMG-20201229-WA0045.jpg

Stay Blessed!!

Sort:  

I have never gone there.. 🤔

When I was stepping through the forest I felt the cold breeze

I can imagine that... I'll be there soon too...

Oh!

I have never gone there.. 🤔

Let's go there 🤗


Your post has been upvoted by Steem Sri Lanka community curator.

✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵
Steem Sri Lanka | Contest Series | Round 2 | Week 6 | First 10 Years of My Life

Win Amazing Vote Prizes upto 50% from @ steemcurator2 + more prizes

You take some nice clicks also the place looks really calm and quite

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61986.52
ETH 2406.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65