Splinterlands Weekly Challenge

Hello Everyone,

image.png

Well, this is suppose to be the blog for a battle with Manticore.
Since I don't own a decent set with Dragon monster, I am planning to write about a battle with reward card, Javelin Thrower as per the suggestion from @carrieallen (Thanks for giving this option :) ) in the weekly challenge blog with link: https://steemit.com/splinterlands/@splinterlands/4pzvnh-share-your-battle-weekly-challenge-win-upvotes.

My apologies for not able to edit the image properly ;)

So, a little info about the monster I would like to write:

image.png

Javelin Thrower is a Rare Earth monster (Reward card) which gives ranged attack option.

This monster has abilities of Piercing and Dodging

image.png

We can see the abilities and different ranged attacks and speed with health details.

Piercing enables the monster to reduce health piercing thru the armors when there are less armors than the monster's ranged attack.

Dodging as we have seen in many weekly challenges before, gives a chance to the monster to evade the melee or ranged attack.

Monster has an attack level of 2 till third level, 3 from fourth to sixth levels and 4 in seventh and eighth levels.

As for as the speed is considered, it has a speed of 4 in the first level itself making it one of the early monsters to attack. It's speed increases to 5 in levels 2 to 5 and 6 in the remaining levels.

The health starts with 4 and remains same in second level and increases to 5 in levels three to seven and a max of 6 in eighth level.

Lineup and Battle:

image.png
https://steemmonsters.com/?p=battle&id=bb3bb9c6688d75d877ef58485de911054340a2ed

This was a battle with Fog of War and Odd Ones Out battle types.

Fog of War as we know, allows monsters without Sneak and snipe abilities.

Odd Ones Out means, we can only use monsters with odd mana cost.

The battle had a mana cap of 29 as we can see above.

Lineup:

Peaceful Giant:

Since this was a Fog of War battle and I didn't have a high health magic monster, I thought of using this since it is with 10 health.

Earth Elemental:

Another card with good health(6 in this case) and also gives an option of 2 ranged attack.

Mushroom Seer:

A magic card with Silence option to reduce the magic attack by one is particularly useful since most of the cards will be either ranged or magic.

Goblin Sorcerer:

A low health monster with 2 magic attack.

Javelin Thrower:

Our monster of attraction, with 3 ranged attack and Piercing ability will be more than handy and I used it in last but one position because I want it to last longer because of the highest damage monster among all the ones I used.

Magic Sphinx:

Another magic attack monster with 2 attack.

Before we go thru the battle, let introduce the monsters of opponent battler.

Fire Summoner with monsters Serpentine Soldier, Giant Roc, Hydra, Elemental Phoenix and Creeping Ooze.

Battle:

image.png

Round 1:

Creeping Ooze usage by opponent means, my monsters got a reduced speed and Javelin Thrower with highest speed among my monsters will get to attack not before third.

Since I had 3 magic attack monsters with 2 attack each, opponent's front monster, Serpentine Soldier was removed in round one itself bringing Giant Roc to front attack.

image.png

Round 2:

Peaceful Giant and Giant Roc were removed one after the other and Hydra and Earth Elemental are now into the front attack although Earth Elemental can't attack, but it's 6 valuable health delays the other cards getting exposed.

image.png

Round 3:

Soon, the Earth Elemental was removed by Elemental Phoenix and Hydra was removed by Javelin Thrower.

At this point, Elemental Phoenix was key for opponent with it's Magic Reflect since I had 3 monsters with magic attack.

But, Round 3 is done with all magic attack monsters attacking Elemental Phoenix and still alive, the Elemental Phoenix is left with 2 health.

image.png

Round 4:

Round 4 first attack from my monsters was from Javelin Thrower and removed Elemental Phoenix and ensuring no more casualties of my monsters.

Creeping Ooze also removed in the same round without any attack from it and that's the battle for me!!!!

image.png

Any battle against higher ranked player will give more confidence and this was one of those.

Did your strategy work? What will you try differently next time?

Yes, the purpose of using Javelin Thrower was to ensure a high attack card which doesn't lose health until it comes to front.

If I have to try something different, then it has to be a good front monster with melee attack instead of Peaceful Giant.

Do you use the MANTICORE JAVELIN THROWER often? Why or why not?

Yes, I use it whenever there is enough mana to accommodate it in the 6 slots.

That's all for now guys, finally I could write about a battle with many rounds.

Take Care and stay safe.

Sort:  

Oh! I really like this card too!
I love the play by play on the rounds. It's nice to be able to see what really happens.
And the Peaceful Giant. I literally think I have NEVER used him. I just don't know when the time is right... I think he did well here, but I agree that a potential tank with some attack could have been better. I may have to put him in a battle challenge soon...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62768.63
ETH 2678.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56