Contest || One of My Memorable Rainy Day Incidents

Hello everyone, this is a great contest, and I will be writing about a rainy day I won't forget in a hurry.
Rainy seasons most times is great for the crops, and sometimes could also destroy them. In Nigeria it rains from around March to October/November. Most times we can have great torrential rainfall, other times we have ones that go very easy and short.

This is a brief story about one of my memorable rainy day Incidents.

PXL_20230719_124953445.jpg

My special Rainy day Incidents happened this year, though I have other incidents like the one I played football in the rain. That one could have easily been my special from my childhood, because I played football for hours in the rain and my mother had warned me to stay away from the rain, but I didn't listen.

But at some point, when I ran to get the ball, I slipped and I got up with a great injury on my hip area.
I was carried home and my dad and mom disciplined me, they applied medication to it and I cried the whole evening.
Well that was for my childhood, but for this year, I had another memorable rainy day.

1692602212146.jpg

I was at home when the rain started, it was very cloudy and stormy, so we all ran inside, it wasn't long before it rained so heavily. So I had to take some pictures of the heavy rain destroying some crops outside, it even brought down trees. Not too long, I retired to the bed. We were all indoors when we heard a loud bang on the roof, everyone stood up out of fear to check what had happened. When we looked up, the roof of the house was ripped opened. Before we could put ourselves together out of shock, rain was entering the house, we had to save some equipments and furniture that were exposed in the rain.

1692602212202.jpg


We heard a loud noise from across the street and we couldn't believe our eyes when we saw someone's roof being carried by the wind. Trees were falling down, Electricity poles were down in no time, people had to park their cars in safe areas. In fact there was no safe place for anyone. We all had to run for safety, more roofs were destroyed, small kiosk were carried like it was nothing. Shops had to close at that instant.

1692602212164.jpg

After the rain went down, we went outside to see the damages that were done by the rain and it was not something to behold. Everyone tried to save their valuables, others were running to get their roofs that were destroyed by the rain.
It took some people months to repair the damages done that day.

Till today everyone remembers that rainy day, well I do too!

Thanks for reading

I invite @bossj23, @imohmitch and @davidmarkgeorge to participate in this contest.

Cc,
@hive-131369

Sort:  
 9 months ago (edited)

Best of luck to you for participating in the contest. What happened to you on a rainy day is unfortunate.Your losses in heavy storms are so bad. There was no provision for people to stay in secure places for their safety. Which is really sad.
Thank you for sharing this tragic incident with us.

 9 months ago 

In Nigeria, it rains from March to October to November. Rainy days are really fun, I also played soccer in the rain, and got scolded by my parents. Was there any damage to the power pole that was destroyed with the loud noise? Or everyone went to safe haven. Thank you very much for sharing such a beautiful post about rainy days with us

The pole fell into two halves, destroyed electricity wires...we are just happened that there were no further damages.

 9 months ago 

Glad to hear that no damage was done.

 9 months ago 

Your memories on rainy days were very funny. Like you I used to play soccer for 2-3 hours in the rain and get fever. I used to listen to Akko at home. I myself fell into the mud many times in the rain. Your rainy days were really beautiful. Best of luck to you in the competition.

 9 months ago 

Some of our Community Rules:

  • Must post 3 days a week. Any post should be traditional. Moreover, you can post photography, art, food reviews, and food recipes.

  • On all daily posts At least 6 comments must be made.

  • Attend our weekly classes and hangouts. (Hang out every Wednesday at 8:30 pm.)

  • Must be added to our Discord server and regularly active. Discord Link

  • Beneficiary to pay 2% to our community account @hive-131369 .

  • You can post in English.

IMG-20230413-WA0003.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68648.42
ETH 3813.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48