Steemit Engagement Challenge ||💖💙||Season 2 Week 4 || My work life and Steemit by @temitopef


Photo_1656357129292_2.png
Cover Image Created using PosterMaker



Good day Steemians and a happy new week, It's the fourth week of Steemit Engagement Challenge Season 2 and I'm so delighted to participate in this week's contest too. I will be dropping my first entry in this community, with the topic given by the community is My work life and Steemit.


my moment at work



My work life

Before I will go deeper into explaining how my work life is, I would love to explain the definition of work-life. Work-life is a part of a person's or one's life when they are at work or when they do a job. This is how an individual does her work and the time spent while doing it. Some individuals spend more than 12 hours working without break, some don't even have time for their personal life because their work-life seems stressful and take much of their time. Another interesting moment is my time with my co-workers that have in some way become my family.

I am a Medical Laboratory Technician, I work in a private hospital and I am a very good phlebotomist. I work under the supervision of a scientist, my job is to collect samples from patients which may be blood, urine, semen and many more, proper labeling of the samples, preparation of some reagents, culture media plate and I ran the test for the patients. I work every day except for 2 weekends in a month, working in a private hospital is not something easy as I do more than my job, because we are short staff.

Sometimes I'm a receptionist, cashier, and accountant at the same time. My work shift is morning and afternoon, no night shift because we don't use to have patients running tests at night but there are times that I had slept at work because I had samples to work on. The morning shift start from 8 am - 3:30 pm while the afternoon is from 2:00 pm to 8 pm which means the afternoon shift worker should be available as early as 2 pm so that the morning shift worker can leave at 3:30 pm.

We ran tests on express and this is because when some patients come to the clinic for check-ups, they have to see the doctors with some laboratory test results they did on that same day or a day before so that the doctors can know their treatment prognosis. Our laboratory test is quite on the high side compared with others and that is because our result comes out faster. We do tests for everyone both our patients and out-patients based on their doctors' request.


Do I like my Job

Yes I like my job, it is a joyful thing for me knowing I can help my patients while running tests for them, most especially seeing progress from their results. I detest seeing people in pain and I always do my best in helping my patients, there are times that I've used my money to pay for patients' tests because they couldn't afford to pay and the doctor will not attend to them without laboratory results. Doing my best for them so that they can have good health is always my priority and I do anything within my power to make it happen by working overtime sometimes.


Can I make time at work for Steemit

Yes I can and I do make time for Steemit while I'm at work, I usually use my free period to engage on the Steemit platform, I do one thing at a time because I understand that each sample is working on representing someone's life and a little mistake can cause a problem to such person. When there is work to do, I put all my attention and focus on it, once I'm done with the samples I'm working on and free, I work on the Steemit platform. I don't have any specific time for Steemit while I'm at work, as I normally go to Steemit anytime I'm free.


Could Steemit be my first Job

The answer is Yes, Steemit can be my first job if I will be able to make money that can cater to all my needs and that of my family from it. Working in some private organization in Nigeria is like enslaving oneself, one will do more than is required of her. I even have the plan of leaving the job I am doing presently because it is getting more tiresome, and it is not good for my health.

Aside from my job as a medical laboratory technician, receptionist, cashier, and any other we have mobile ECG (Electrocardiography) machines, so sometimes I go outside our hospital to do ECG. All this is stressful for me and I have the plan to leave the job, get some money, and be self-employed.


How is my financial Situation

Right now I cannot say boldly that I am financially stable but I'm able to live a moderate life from my earnings. I'm collecting #30,000 as salary which is small compared to what I'm spending, and I haven't been able to get enough from Steemit lately but I will keep on working hoping my day would come.

Furthermore, for now I am cutting my coat according to my size by managing myself with the little I'm earning and sending some money home too. There are things I want to do for myself such as furthering my education but lack of funds is depriving me for now.


What do I need to turn the Steemit platform into my workplace

What I need to turn Steemit into my workplace is money, we all know votes on Steemit are not guaranteed and it is from the little I make from my salary and Steemit that I am living on, helping my family and paying my sister's school fee.

Now that I haven't gotten much votes, I will need to have some money in my account before I can take Steemit as my full job, and be earning from Steemit anytime a vote comes. Turning Steemit into my workplace with this current vote I'm receiving and without any savings is not the right decision.


Conclusion

My work and Steemit life have been helpful to me and my family and I have been managing my time very well between my work and Steemit in such a way that none is affected. If I'm able to make some money, I would love to make the Steemit platform my workplace and dedicate most of my time to the Steemit platform. This is where I will be stopping for now. Thank you for reading.

I invite @yakspeace, @malikusman, and @patience90 to join this contest. 25% Beneficiary Set to @null
Sort:  
 2 years ago 

steemit azerbaijan.jfif
Status Club
club5050
Steemexclusive
No Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
350 Words
Post Quality
6.5/10


I had issues with my ankle like 6months ago and I as taken to a clinic for x-ray, I saw a lab technician in that clinic attending to pregnant women and other patient, I see the care you have for patient admitted to your hospital, I so much like the job eve since then and I am hope my future daughter will like such occupation so that when am old I will have a blood of mine taken care of me medically,

You do such a wonderful job and I must say, it is hectic I see her moving up and down no rest
I wonder what spare time she will have at work

Greetings and blessing

I am happy you understand how hectic my work can be, when I got busy like that I give it my full concentration and have no time for any other thing.

Do quick, get married and give me my fellow health professional friend, I mean your daughter 😂.

🤣🤣🤣, I hope she love the job

I hope so too.

Being a laboratory technician is a beautiful profession that connects you to health. I work in a school where we train professionals in your area of work. All the success for you.

Thank you so much for your wishes, I'm glad to know that you train professionals in my area of work.

Hello @temitopef.
I used to wish I would be a laboratory technician when I was too young. But as you know when you grow old your dreams changes. I am happy to know you love doing your job and still find time to work in Steemit.

I'm collecting #30,000 as salary which is small compared to what I'm spending.

I share this experience with you. I will speak so little for so much work I knew it was a destruction to me so I decided to quit and concentrate on Steemit.

But keep working hard. One day things will get better

Truly with this type of job, one can not grow financially, I'm thinking of leaving too but I want have some savings before I quit.

Medical laboratory is a very nice job, just that the government are not paying the medical personal well here in Nigeria as my mum will always complain. The work is very stressful but the payment is not that high.

Seriously I most recommend you on this, you are actually trying when it's comes to managing your work and steemit, it not actually easy but it's worth it.

I wish you all the best in this contest ma.

I have to manage between my work and steemit, so to give myself and family a good life. The government did nothing about unemployment, which gives private organization the opportunity to use their staff as they wish and pay them little amount of money as salary. Thank you for the kind wishes.

Sometimes I wonder how you lab techs take samples without squeezing your faces. Well I guess it's part of the training.
Why is it that most private hospitals are Al see I short staffed 😅 I don't get it. Nevertheless I'm happy you are considering being self employed, you are also making efforts to earn on steemit which I'm sure will take you far

🤣🤣🤣🤣 I don't squeeze my face while taking sample, because it is now part of me and it is something I enjoyed doing.

About private hospital being short staff, you know it is a business to them and the lesser the staff they pay for the more profit they make.

Thank you for reading.

Well I get the point now

Your entry is waooo, every one would have loved to turn Steemit to be their work place if vote was guarantee, this is lovely. I can see you are doing well with your work and this is the beginning of your life so with time your salary will increase

Thank you so much for your word of encouragement, here in my state hardly do we see private firm that increases their staff salary, my prayer is that I get government job or get some money and be self employed.

I congratulate you for having such a nice gesture of paying with your own money for examinations of patients who do not have the monetary resources, God bless you for being so humble, good luck

Amen, thank you for sharing on my post.

You are trying, being a lab technician and then still work here in this platform is not easy. I commend you for that. Greetings

Nice entry dear friend. I enjoyed your presentation to the end and I can see the passion you have about your job

phlebotomist?

Hhhmmm.... I didn't know taking blood samples in the lab, running test and all the labeling is termed
phlebotomist. Thanks for this added knowledge

You're a kind person especially with helping your patients pay for their test. That's a great heart you have and I am sure the blessings you have gotten from these act are massive. It is good to help those in need even with the small we have.

Hopefully things will change and your income will be better even the votes on steemit will give us more money

Thanks for sharing with us

Oh sis, phlebotomy is not all that o, it is the science of blood collection, I wrote it first before collection of blood sample is the first step we must know and be good at before going into laboratory investigation. You know it is a must to collect blood sample before we can run test on the person blood.

I also hope things will change too by the grace of God. Thank you so much for sharing on my post.

Oohhh sorry for the mix up but it is good you gave given a good clarification. Else I would have jointly classified all those things for phlebotomy. Thank you and I admire what you do

It is well God will make a way and a change for you. Take care

Amen, thank you so much and I'm glad you have understand the word phlebotomy better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97