Who will score the goals for England during Euro 2020?

Euro 2020 is approaching, in fact, the first match will be played in exactly 12 days from now. It is gonna be fantastic to watch Italy play against Turkey in the opening match, even though there are lots of other matches that I look way more forward to during the group stage.

A few days ago, I checked a bookmaker site, in which they kept France as the biggest favorites to win the European Championship with England ranked second. I wasn't surprised to see France at the top, but I was baffled to see England placed second. If there is one country I don't think will win the European Championship, it is England. Why not? Because they just don't play well in big tournaments. And if they do, then the magic will disappear during the knockout stage and they will lose against a potentially weaker team (just like they did against Iceland in the World Cup some years ago).

harry kane 1.jpg
Source

But, let us imagine that England might do well in the European Championship. I still ask myself the question - who will score the goals for England during Euro 2020?

The strikers in the English squad for Euro 2020

Here you can see a list presenting the different strikers in the English squad ahead of Euro 2020. There are some interesting names, and some strikers that I don't consider to be so interesting myself.

  • Dominic Calvert-Lewin (Everton)
  • Phil Foden (Manchester City)
  • Jack Grealish (Aston Villa)
  • Mason Greenwood (Manchester United)
  • Harry Kane (Tottenham)
  • Marcus Rashford (Manchester United)
  • Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)
  • Jadon Sancho (Dortmund)
  • Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)
  • Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa)

First of all, Harry Kane is obvious. I am not a big fan, but he is a lead character and he has lots of experience. He is also a goal-getter, someone who might end up being one of the top scorers in the tournament. I don't believe he will be (unless England should win a match 6-0 during the group stage and Harry Kane scores 4 of the goals), but he might be.

England will play their opening match against Croatia on June 14. They will later play against Scotland and Czech Republic. All in all, a quite "convenient" group, in which they might actually score quite some goals. But, is Harry Kane the only dangerous attacker on the team?

Raheem Sterling is a striker I really like, but somehow, he doesn't have much success for the national squad, and he was almost invincible in the Champions League final against Chelsea. Mason Greenwood has potential, but I don't think he will make it into the starting squad. Marcus Rashford has a bigger chance of entering the starting squad, but he hasn't been too impressive lately either.

Phil Foden is a quite new star, but even though Manchester City lost the Champions League final, I always felt like danger was around the corner when Foden received the ball. Will Gareth Southgate be brave enough to add Foden to the starting squad?

A personal favorite of mine is Jadon Sancho. He has been awesome for Borussia Dortmund, and even though he might not be the typical central attacker, he has an amazing foot, both capable of shooting the ball into the goal, or preparing and serving balls to goal getters such as Harry Kane and Marcus Rashford.

Sancho, Rashford and Kane - would that be a good combination?

If England will start with a 4-3-3 formation, then I would say that a combination of Sancho, Rashford, and Kane would be very interesting. They might want to use Foden and Sterling as very interesting substitutes, in case of need!

Now, I am just thinking out loud. What do you think? I would love to hear what you think about the English squad and concerning who will score their goals during the European Championship in football!

Sort:  

Well, I guess I've mostly been following Denmark... and I've actually been a little out of touch because of the assorted schedules due to Covid. That said, the Danish squad doesn't look terribly impressive... beating a lot of "minor" teams but losing twice to Belgium; we'll see how it goes against Germany in a couple of days.

1-1 against Germany isn't a bad result at all... I still remember when Denmark won the European Championship in 1992! I was at a camping somewhere watching the final in a big community room, and I really cheered for Denmark against Germany in the final... and luckily, they won! :)

Belgium has a bad habit (just like England) of playing great in 80% of their matches, but then they mess it up in the knockout stage, so I have my doubts about them!

Go Denmark (and Hungary)! :)

They do have a very good squad, but somehow they won't lift the trophy.

he was almost invincible in the Champions League final against Chelsea

Should that be invisible? I've always struggled with Sterling. Brilliant from 2cm in the middle of the goal though.

Did you notice that despite France being favourites to win the tournament, Germany are favourites to finish above them in their group. Strange huh?

You've been doing your research for the Fantasy Euros 😉

I don't fancy our chances to do well but Kane's almost certainly going to be our top scorer. As captain and penalty taker, he'll get the game time and we have some players who are good at winning penalties now that VAR's in play.

I like Grealish a lot. If we do well, he's the player that will make it happen (think Gazza in Italia '90). But we're too defensive and don't have the "big game mentality". 2nd favourites?? Nah.

Ooooppppssss.... that is kind of a brutal mistake, invincible instead of invisible. Not exactly the same :)

I really look forward to the fantasy Euros. ONe quick question as I haven't read the rules 100%. Can I change the squad every single day, or can I only change my squad before every single round during the group stage?

If it is every single day, then I guess I should just add lots of Italians on day one, and then a mixture of Danish, Belgian, and Swiss players on day two?

If it is per round, then I will have to think a bit more :)

Gazza was great back then... if Grealish can be something like him, that would be great for the team. I guess you are right about Kane as top scorer and captain, but still - he is just a bit too boring and slow to me. :(

So many attackers I would prefer to him. But, if the defense can hold up against the opponents, then some balls will for sure get to the front, and Kane might turn out to be the hero of the day several times during the tournament, no matter what!

My understanding is that you only have a few transfers that apply at the end of each matchweek (like FPL) but you can change your captain and substitute players as often as you like on a daily basis (unlike FPL). Once your captain has played and you choose somebody else, you can't go back to that captain.

Another thing about Kane is that he's pretty greedy. He'll shoot from any angle and is very accurate. If England score, I expect him to be involved. I honestly don't think we'll score many goals though.

1 week to wait 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64400.67
ETH 3506.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53