The Premier League || What Ifs?

in World Of Football ⚽3 years ago (edited)

What if teams had won the games they dominated?

When writing about Brighton in the final part of my Premier League review, I wondered what the Premier League table would have looked like if teams that had dominated matches had taken their chances and won these games.

So I visited a site that I enjoy a lot which provides Expected Goals data for every match and used this to provide a team's "Expected Points"...

image.png
Source

image.png
Source

A few teams stand out for me here:

  • Man City - Fully deserved to win the league
  • Brighton - I said that they could consider themselves unlucky and this goes to show quite how unlucky they were. A 5th place finish and a spot in the Europa League
  • Fulham - I enjoyed watching Fulham last season and felt that they didn't get the points their performances deserved. If they had, they'd still be in the Premier League next season
  • Crystal Palace - I didn't enjoy watching Crystal Palace and am disappointed that they didn't get the points their performances deserved.

What if Thomas Tuchel had been appointed sooner?

Tuchel was appointed on the 26th January and this is how the Premier League looked from this date on...

image.png
Source

Even taking into account that Chelsea played 1 fewer game than Man City, they weren't even close to catching Pep's men. An ominous omen for those wanting to catch Man City next season.


What if Chris Wilder had left Sheffield United sooner?

Wilder left Sheffield United on 13th March and this is how the Premier League table looked after this...

image.png
Source

Sheffield United would still have been relegated and as much as anything else, this table shows how important it is to have a squad that keeps going until the final match.


What if Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi played for Crystal Palace?

image.png
Source 1License 1Source 2License 2 + Lots of Photoshop


What if there were no "big-6"?

image.png
Source

This table's a little outdated as it was created when there was talk of the European Super League but it does show how good West Ham and Leeds are against everybody else. For Leicester to finish as high as they did, it shows how well they've done against the top teams.


What if there were only the "big-6"?

Po.TeamPlWDLFAPts
1Liverpool10622181120
2Man City1052314917
3Arsenal1041581213
4Chelsea1033461012
5Man Utd1025381111
6Spurs10316141510

This surprised me slightly and given how far Liverpool were behind Man City, shows how many points they dropped against "lesser" teams.


euro-banner-top.png

Fantasy Sports Euro 2020 Fantasy Football Contest is now open with a current Prize Fund of 200 STEEM. Click here to find out more and enter.

euro-banner-bottom.png


Euros Banner Images: source 1source 2 + lots of Photoshop

Sort:  

Thanks man, you have no idea how happy I get anytime you vote on my post.. so fast. Thanks a lot.
I feel like curator01 him/herself has voted!😂 I just want to use this chance to say, thanksy!

You're welcome. I've decided that I'll follow a maximum of 50 people so that I don't get overwhelmed in my friends feel 🙂

That's great. Keep up the good work. I just wish you get all the support you need.
✌🏽✌🏽

🙂 Thank you

 3 years ago 

This is nice! These variables would have certainly changed the outcome of the entire league.

I also get frustrated sometimes when matches don't turn out as it should especially when the losing side was clearly the better side.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.00
ETH 2507.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53