The Madejski Stadium Step

in World Of Football ⚽3 years ago

Having been reminded of Arsene Wenger's coat in a discussion with @ablaze, it reminded me if a video I saw of one of the steps at the Madejski Stadium (home of the mighty Reading FC).

Unfortunately, I've not been able to find the video I was looking for 😪 but worry not... I found some alternatives.

At the Madejski stadium, for some totally bizarre reason, one step is either slightly higher, or slightly shorter than all of the others. This subtle and unexpected difference has caused thousands of people problems (no exaggeration) as they simply don't expect the difference.

I remember first noticing it watching fans arrive in the away end - they would get near to the top, and almost always trip over. It's always funnier to watch away fans trip over.

It didn't cross my mind to record it and get myself 2 minutes of fame but somebody else did and sent it in to Soccer AM. So I'd like to share this amusing video with you, as well as somebody else's YouTube video.

I used to sit further back than this but I don't remember ever falling over. I probably did though.

Soccer AM - https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/teams/reading/8351278/have-a-nice-trip

Ryan Lipman YouTube Channel

LikeVine's YouTube Channel

🤣

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Looks like they're all about to trip at the same step 😂.

Maybe there should be a warning sign on top of it 🤣🤣🤣.

 3 years ago 

Es increible ver como sucede tan seguido jaja, pero bueno eso debe suceder en cada partido.

That's pure gas man!!! Jesus you'd buy a season ticket just to watch that fiasco every Saturday. Imagine if ya could bring in plastic pints... visions of some hero trying to carry 4 pints up the steps, then BANG!

You've been stepped, courtesy of incompetent builders in 1998, I wonder did they do it for the laugh!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65375.87
ETH 3337.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63