Leicester City 1-0 Chelsea || FA Cup Final || the-gorilla Review

in World Of Football ⚽3 years ago (edited)

This morning, I wrote about my own experience going to Wembley so to see 12,500 fans and 9,500 "others" being able to watch the FA Cup final felt more significant than if the stadium had been full.

IMG_4576.jpg
☝ My Photo

The cat-calls, the booing and the ironic cheers that only a live crowd could create - I've got nothing against Ben Chilwell but hearing him get booed was like music to my ears.

The match itself was fairly cagey and defences were certainly on top. Reece James made a surprise move to centre back to cover Jamie Vardy, which he did exceptionally well and I think Kelechi Iheanacho is still in Rudiger's pocket.

At the other end, Evans and Soyuncu seemed a bit too deep leaving too much room between them and the midfield, allowing Werner, Mount and Ziyech too much space which they failed to capitalise on. Evans' injury on the half hour and the subsequent substitution seemed to fill that gap, presumably because they had been sitting deep to compensate for Evans' injury.

The 1st half saw lots of endeavour, plenty of late tackles and yellow cards but not a single shot on target. Not the best game to watch but it didn't matter. There was a crowd, making real crowd noises.

It took 53 minutes for the 1st shot on target, a weak Alonso header straight into Schmeichel's arms.

10 minutes later, it was Leicester's turn for their only shot on target all match. And what a shot it was. An absolute screamer from 30 yards by Youri Tielemans into the top corner. He was without a doubt the man of the match and gave Kepa absolutely no chance.

It was time for Tuchel to tinker. Pulisic and Chilwell the first to come on then Havertz and Hudson-Odoi. All of which livened things up. Then Giroud, signalling a more direct approach. Chelsea had upped the tempo, upped the pressure and you sensed it would be a long 15 minutes for Leicester. Schmeichel was suddenly busy - forced into a diving save from a Chilwell header and then an incredible save to keep out Mason Mount. It was the kind of goalkeeping you need to win a cup final.

But in the 90th minute, Leicester hearts were broken. Albrighton switched off, and Thiago Silva played it in behind him into the run of Chilwell. He played it towards goal and Soyuncu's clearance rebounded off Morgan and into the Leicester goal. Cruel on Morgan, cruel on Leicester, the Chelsea fans went wild.

But as we know, VAR look at everything. They look for that excessive lockdown hair that should've been cut and you know the rest...

image.png
☝ My Photo

My oh my. It was Leicester's turn to go wild again and Chelsea's turn to feel hard done by. We can debate VAR again but I'm not going to here.

Leicester holding on to win the FA Cup for the 1st time in their history and for me at least, the magic of the FA Cup still remains.

image.png
☝ My Photo

👇 Match Highlights from The Emirates FA Cup YouTube Channel


euro-banner-top.png

Fantasy Sports Euro 2020 Fantasy Football Contest is now open with a current Prize Fund of 100 STEEM. Click here to find out more and enter.

euro-banner-bottom.png


Euros Banner Images: source 1source 2 + lots of Photoshop

Sort:  

I was really waiting for this post. I couldn't watch.
I don't know how I'm feeling now😂 VAR is such a killjoy, no one is safe now

🙂 It was probably the most stressful match to watch. My food delivery arrived 10 minutes before kick off, then my takeaway arrived, then the-toddler-gorilla behaved like a tired-gorilla and the-baby gorilla and the-mrs-gorilla did their best to annoy me. I'm lucky that very little happened (as can be seen in the highlights)!

I'm pleased Leicester won though. Too many of my family support Chelsea for my liking 🤣

💦

🙂 It was probably the most stressful match to watch. My food delivery arrived 10 minutes before kick off, then my takeaway arrived, then the-toddler-gorilla behaved like a tired-gorilla and the-baby gorilla and the-mrs-gorilla did their best to annoy me. I'm lucky that very little happened (as can be seen in the highlights)!

It sure was!😳😳 jeez, man..

Lucky you, it was indeed a brilliant match. I enjoyed watching it, but it saddens me at the same time to see Chelsea losing it. Please check my review and comment if you like it.

Excellent and brilliant publication!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61282.12
ETH 2375.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55