Contest - My Local Team - Reading FC

in World Of Football ⚽3 years ago

Now I don't know if it's an advantage or disadvantage to be able to write about a team that in the not too distant past has graced the Premier League but it's the hand I've been dealt so I've got to play it.

I'll only briefly talk about the olden days and much of my rambling will be what's happened to the club in my lifetime. There's plenty to get through so I'll keep things brief!

Where We Played

Reading FC was founded in 1871 and like many English clubs at the time, played their matches on a local cricket pitch. They played here until 1896 when we moved to our purpose built home for the next 100 years and the 1st football ground that I would visit, Elm Park. Elm Park was an old fashioned ground with a capacity of 14,800. Mostly terraced with one seated stand at the time that I started going. Initially I stood on the South Bank, the long, main stand that ran the length of the pitch where the atmosphere was intense. It also stank of piss. I eventually decided to move to the Tilehurst Road End when it wasn't raining (behind the goal) where there was room to breath and I could meet players warming up before the game. I also got to be on telly in the match highlights.

👇 This is roughly my view from behind the goal though I stood nearer to the front
Portrait-scribble-drawing-Hello-fan-art-hope-love-MAKING-self-taught-aspiring-artist-photographer-blog-create-artworks-random-creativity-style-freedom-imperfections-Fancy-dividers-artemislives-Thanks-stopping-Enjoy-day-2.jpg
SourceLicense

We played here until 1998 when we moved to The Madejski Stadium (named after our chairman who I'll talk about later) with a larger, much more impressive 24,000 capacity. I remember the 1st game there on a fine, sunny day to watch us beat Luton Town 3-0 (unfortunately we'd been relegated the season before the move to the new ground!) I took up residence in the East Stand along the side of the pitch, towards the away fans. With my season ticket, this would be my home for many years.

👇 I sat here roughly but nearer to the back
Portrait-scribble-drawing-Hello-fan-art-hope-love-MAKING-self-taught-aspiring-artist-photographer-blog-create-artworks-random-creativity-style-freedom-imperfections-Fancy-dividers-artemislives-Thanks-stopping-Enjoy-day-3.jpg
SourceLicense

How Good We Were / Our Records

For the early years, Reading kicked about in the lower leagues (division 2, division 3 and division 4), with little success to note. In 1927, we reached the FA Cup semi-final and in 1946, we beat Crystal Palace 10-2 which is a record that stands to this day. Another notable record is Steve Death's 536 performances between 1969 and 1982 which is unlikely ever to be beaten. It was around this time - 1982/1983 that Reading nearly ceased to exist. The then Chairman of Oxford United (our local rivals) wanted to buy Reading and merge the 2 clubs to form a Thames Valley FC. Reading fans and locals fought back and managed to keep the club afloat without this atrocity of a merger. I can't imagine the idea of supporting a Thames Valley football team!

Things took an upward turn at that point and we even won a trophy - the Simod Cup in 1988. What do you mean you've never heard of the Simod cup??? We beat Luton Town (then in the top flight) 4-1 at Wembley in a trophy that no longer exists. It was created following the English team's ban from Europe and only lasted 7 years. But we won it, our first, and last "major" trophy.

Portrait-scribble-drawing-Hello-fan-art-hope-love-MAKING-self-taught-aspiring-artist-photographer-blog-create-artworks-random-creativity-style-freedom-imperfections-Fancy-dividers-artemislives-Thanks-stopping-Enjoy-day-4.jpg
Source License

It was in 1990 and the arrival of Reading local, founder of auto-trader and multi-millionaire John Madejski that things started to go well for Reading. In the 1995/96 season things so nearly changed significantly - It was the year that they reduced the size of the Premier League from 22 to 20 teams which also saw the introduction of the play offs. We finished 2nd which in any other year would've seen automatic promotion and Premier League football. Not this season though. This season it meant the dreaded playoffs. I remember the playoff final like it was yesterday. 2-0 up at Half Time against Bolton at Wembley. I was planning my trips to Anfield and St. James' Park. And after half time, we got a penalty. Oh, happy days. Up steps star man Stuart "Archie" Lovell. Who missed. We went on to lose 4-2 in extra time and 3 years later, we were relegated. It was 4 seasons in our new stadium until we would be promoted again with a dramatic draw away at Brentford.

Then in 2005/2006, under the guidance of Steve Coppell, we absolutely annihilated the Championship, scoring 106 points, 99 goals and losing just 2 matches all season. 106 being a record points tally for the division. We'd done it. We'd finally achieved Premier League football and I decided to have a drink for every player. Leading striker Kevin Doyle bought me drink number 16 - Ivar Ingimarsson. (At this point I'd like to point out that I don't really drink any more. I was younger then. I'm wiser now.)

I was watching the best football of my life. But the Premier League was different. Our opening game of the 2006/2007 season was home to Middlesbrough. And we went 2-0 down after just 20 minutes. This wasn't the team I knew, we were playing with fear. Where were they? Then you could see us change. "We've got nothing to lose" they thought and for the next 70 minutes, we battered them going on to win 3-2. Premier League, we have arrived. It was a great season. We finished 8th, 1 point off a place in Europe. If only we'd beaten Blackburn away on the final day instead of drawing 3-3. If only.

👇 Blackburn Away
20070513 - 17 - Ewood Park.JPG
My photo - The last away game of the season is traditionally "Inflatables Day"

The next season was the dreaded 2nd season syndrome, getting relegated on goal difference. 5-0 away to Derby on the final day wasn't enough. We needed (and could have got) 8.

Things have been up and down and I've missed out a lot. Including an FA Cup Semi-final against Arsenal, losing 2-1 in extra time to an Alexis Sanchez lucky goal due to a goalkeeping mistake. We should've finished the game off before then but didn't take our chances.

We've lost in the playoffs 6 times and I dread finishing in them (which looks like it might happen again this season).

There's just too much to write about so this is brief, I hope you've enjoyed reading it. You'll certainly hear more as the weeks go on and I take the opportunities I have to write about my memories.

Come on URZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

👇 Promotion Celebrations in 2006
image.png
SourceLicense

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Wow, you've really graced us with another great post about Reading FC.

Seems like the old days were quite favorable to you though.

we reached the FA Cup semi-final and in 1946, we beat Crystal Palace 10-2 .

Getting relegated was a bit of an anticlimax though, but that's how you bounce back harder.

Perhaps the 2005/2006 season was your best one so far.

Great team, thank you for your participation.

Thank you. I managed to pick out 2 highlights from our first hundred years (ha ha).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65375.87
ETH 3337.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63