Away Day Tales: Episode 1 - Anfield (20th October 2012)

in World Of Football ⚽3 years ago (edited)

Having attended my 1st football match in 1995, and my 1st away game in 1998, I've been travelling to watch my team for a long time now. I've visited 64 out of the current 92 football league grounds (as well as some that no longer exist or are now non-league clubs), all of which to watch my beloved Reading FC.

This is my story from Saturday, 20th October as I made the 400 mile round trip, to the legendary Anfield.

I can't remember much about my journey other than I got the train. 1st class tickets were cheaper than standard tickets if you booked in advance so I travelled up in style, being served a complimentary meal on the way. Through fear of arriving late, I was early and decided to walk to the ground taking me through and out of the city and through streets of derelict houses (an image that reflects my memory can be seen at the end). Despite my ambling, I was still early and waited patiently outside for my friends to arrive. They were running late. As was normal on England's motorways, there was heavy traffic but they made it and we took our seats before kick off. Unfortunately, it appears that I didn't take any photos of this day so can't share any of my own photography with you so I'll have to share other pictures that reflect my memory.

It was our 7th match of the season, and things hadn't started well. We'd taken just 3 points from these games and sat 18th in the table. In modern day terms, Liverpool had also got off to a poor start and sat 14th on 6 points, having played a game more (league table at the time is at the end). A win would take us level on points with them and would raise further questions of Jurgen Klopp's Brendan Rogers' future. Liverpool were strong favourites and when this is the case, you don't get that famous Liverpool atmosphere. It wouldn't be an exaggeration to say that if they hadn't let any Liverpool fans in, it would have been just as noisy (with the exception of one moment).

I remember very little about the game other than that decisive moment, Reading were high up the pitch and in the 27th minute, Luis Suarez played a young Liverpool winger through, beating the offside trap and coolly smashing the ball across the front of our keeper to score the decisive goal of the game, his first Liverpool goal. At the age of 17, Raheem Sterling was the 2nd youngest player to score for Liverpool (Michael Owen being the youngest).

image.png
Source


Somebody's home TV footage

At 1-0, we always felt there was something in this game for us but it wasn't to be, my only trip to Anfield ended in defeat.

I got the train home, arriving at London Euston station along with all of the other Liverpool fans - it appeared that more fans had travelled up for the game than Reading! As is customary, chants of "We support our local team" were sang by fans of local London teams (probably having been in the pub since watching their team), mocking the Liverpool fans - the video below adding the relevant sound effects for those unfamiliar with the song.


Source


Although these photos aren't mine, they reflect my memories of this day.

Derelict Streets of Liverpool
image.png
Source

League Table Going Into The Match

image.png
Source

Sort:  

West Brom in 6th! They were happier times for us. :)

Happy that you shared your experience with us, look forward to seeing more from you!

Thanks for taking the time to reply, The Hawthorns is on my list of grounds visited (I think it was an FA Cup match which we either lost or drew). I'll have to dig my old programmes out of the loft and go down memory lane.

I really enjoyed writing this, I didn't realise at the time it was Sterling's first goal - I remember the hype surrounding him before the game though.

Boing, boing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61740.86
ETH 3453.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51