My PFA Team of the Year

With the premier league over and Champions crowned, relegation confirmed, race for European places over, we can now come up with a PL team of the season, I would like to share MY TEAM OF THE SEASON.
I would say a few reasons or two why I go with the players I will be picking. I had difficulties selecting players for certain positions while some positions where difficult to nail down. I am going with a 4-3-3 formation. Naturally, the Champions (City) have the highest number of players 3.
PS : Players were selected based on their Premier League performances only.

GK- So many goalkeepers proved their mettle this past season. From Ilian Meslier ( who has the highest number of saves last season) to Emiliano Martinez who has flourished between the sticks for Aston Villa to Ederson who has been praised for his ball playing abilities to Edouard Mendy who has made so much impact since coming to the Premier League. All 4 have been exceptional this season. But I will go with Ederson. He has a reasonable amount of clean sheets, made some impressive saves and pheeeew he raked a brilliant assist in the second leg 3-0 win against Totenham. He was instrumental in City winning the title and he just nicks this one for me

RB- I have a few options in my head: Kyle Walker, Joao Cancelo, Wan Bisaka .But I will go with Joao Cancelo, even though he has been playing from the left back. The 26 year old has thrived in Peps system which allows him to move into the midfield and make the most of his passing abilities with the versatile defender raking a couple of assists second only to Alexander-Arnold only in the Premier league.

RCB- Forfana was brilliant. Michale Keane's has come on leaps and bounds under Carlo Ancelotti and is now leading the Everton Defence. Aston Villas duo of both Ezri Konsa and Tyron Mings both need recognition because they have been superb individually and as a duo. John Stones is back in top form. But I would go with Harry Maguire. He just edges it slightly over Stones. He has been quietly exceptional this season despite playing with a less than ideal partner.

LCB- Ruben Dias. When you talk about impact you talk about Dias. With Ruben Dias in the team, Chelsea has become an incredible side defensively. I think he has no competition here. This was an easy choice for me.

LB- Luke Shaw. For Shaw it's not just what he does defensively, it's also what he adds to the attack. The 25 year old is Man Us most creative player alongside Bruno Fernandez. The English man has really proven all those who wrote him off in past seasons wrong.

Midfield- I am going with a three pronged midfield of Bruno Fernandez, Ikay Gundogan and Soucek. Bruno Fernandez has made great impact for Man U since coming from Sporting. Ikay Gundogan is having his best season in a City jersey. Soucek has been a fantastic season for Villa. He has goals and assists whilst keeping up with his defensive duties.
KDB slightly misses out for me. The man has been plagued with injuries and so did not really hit the heights season pushing United.
Another miss is Mason Mount. He has been brilliant this season, but I don't think he has done enough to displace Bruno, Soucek or Ikay Gundogan from that midfield trio

RWF- Mohammed Salah's first season at Liverpool was so spectacular that every season after that looks like a disappointing one due to the high expectation set by the Egyptian. I understand that a lot of people would disagree with him finding a way a way into my list due to Liverpool's poor results however, the numbers don't lie. He scored 30 goals last season losing the golden boot to Harry Kane by just a goal.

LWF- Son Heung Min. There's a young Foden on my mind, and a certain Rashford too. I am a big fan of Foden. He's such a talented player but Son Heung Ming nicks this one for me. It's amazing what he and Kane did, the records they broke together. It's just sad that other departments in the Totenham team couldn't rise to the occasion.

CF- most goals , most assists, Harry Kane has proven that he's the best Striker in the Premier league in the past 3 seasons. He has incredible numbers. He's a contender for the PFA player of the year even though his teams position on the log might not favour this agenda.

Near misses- Mendy, Kyle Walker, , John stones, KDB, Mount, Phil Foden

What do you guys think ??

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54290.46
ETH 2276.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31