TELL US ABOUT YOUR FAVORITE ROLE IN THE FOOTBALL WORLD -"PLAYER"

image.png

Undoubtedly the one role I would have wanted in the football world would have been as a player. Of course I was missing the one thing which makes great football players, perseverance. It just wasn't in me to practice every day, to make continuous efforts to improve, even though I actually itched to play every day, but that was exactly what I wanted, play, I didn't want any of the things that make for success in football, like exercising every day, running a couple of clicks at full speed or even receiving orders from a trainer, I have always cringed from authority.

Now I wasn't a bad player, I was gifted technically but my best attribute was that I was good at distributing the ball, I just had an eye for where to put a pass and I was good at delivering this pass I usually had the ball within a foot of where I wanted it to go. I could dribble two or three rivals easily and finish it with a good pass. Sometimes I do regret not having gone all the way and tried to play professionally, I believe I could have made it. But I was just lazy, and I also got upset when a teammate would not follow up on a pass I gave him and I would just take it out on him.

In any case any dream I could have had about becoming a professional football player was dashed in 1984 when I was 22, I was tackled from behind in a very uneven pitch, my leg got caught in a hole and my knee snapped, the pain was incredible, I thought my leg was completely broken. But a friend of mine who was a Doctor and was playing told me that is a meniscus tear. Now I was rolling on the ground from the pain, but he made me stand up, and incredibly the rotula just went to the back of my knee, that really scared me but he just told me to put my weight on the leg and the rotula snapped back in place.

But he was right, the meniscus was torn, and I wasn't going to operate it, I suffered from trick knee for decades you know the knee would just lock in place and I had to jerk it with a sudden move to unlock it, that hurt like hell. Luckily this has not happened in over ten years I think the meniscus mended itself.

But, yes, I would have dearly wanted to be a football player, not to become a millionaire but just to know that I was making a living doing what I most liked to do.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Nice entry,

Having a good eye to ball coordination always helps attacking roles. You should have definitely put in more training hours, haha.

Good one, thank you for your participation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99