Contest: How do you become a great footballer.

in World Of Football ⚽3 years ago


Credit: @njaywan

Hey football lovers, I know we are all glad to have another contest here. It's always a bliss to be part of it and reading others ideas too; I mean it's always fun.

This contest as we all know is about how you can be a great footballer.
So it's just like imagining yourself being footballer at a very youthful age and trying to be the best out of the bests as you gradually develop.
Who doesn't want to be great in everything he does huh? But success they say doesn't come that easy, you gotta work for and towards it.

So with this post, I'm gonna try my best to point out some things I'd personally do if I wanted to be at the top as a footballer(it's not too late for me though😑).

To start with, every player has at one point or the other in their lives (or all the fracking time) thought of becoming another player or wishing they played like that player. These players that other players look up to gradually turn up to be icons or mentors of most players especially the prospects.
It's the same with our normal lives, we all have the power we would want to be like. It's only when you have reached that stage that you might want to do more than what your icon did and this is actually great because it creates a kind of challenge or yardstick for you. "If I don't reach this level, I'm a loser" is a thought that is common to people who succeed.
So if I were a player, I'd first and foremost find a role model. And like I always say, there's no way I'm gonna play any position aside being a right back. So it wouldn't be a surprise if I choose Dani Alves because he is undoubtedly the best RB in the world of football. I'm sure every right back's dream is to be like him because the guy has won everything, everything.

Dani_Alves_-_2011_-_Scotland_v_Brazil_(edited).jpg

Source

License details

I would also consider Antonio Valencia. Two role models mean more self challenge, right?
These mentors will really help me set a goal for myself and will make me challenge myself and others in every way possible.



Another thing I'd look at if I wanted to become a great footballer is my lifestyle. Though I would learn a lot from my mentors, I would also set my own goals. When it comes to physical fitness, I'm not sure any player would like to be weak especially if he's a defender. So with the help of my personal trainer, I would make sure to train real hard and learn new skills. Being a right back will actually make me work out more to be in shape and to be strong always, and also to be able to "bully" opponents and also outrun them when it comes to attacking.

Also, another lifestyle I would be wary of if I was a footballer is my diet. Players like Dani Alves, Messi, Ronaldo look quite young and do the works of youngsters because of the strict diet they follow. Though the team itself will help you in such a way, I would make sure to put myself on a strict diet to keep myself on shape because we all know some foods are just not for athletes to enjoy every time(maybe once in a while).
I'd get personal cooks and dieticians to help me in this way because I do not have the deep knowledge about such stuff.
I think all these will help me with most of my physical fitness goals.

2017-10-15-18-30-21.jpg

Strength

License details



Another thing I'd look at is my behaviour as a professional, on and off the pitch. Players like Emre Mor or the famous Balotelli have suffered in their career because of their bad behaviour. They don't respect or regard anyone.
This can obviously make your career come crumbling down.
When we look at players like Messi, Ronaldo, Valencia, Kante or even Dani Alves(who ate a banana thrown at him by a spectator), they are thriving in soccer because of the respect they have for people and the respect they have for themselves now were worked for. They didn't just wake one day and people started revering them; they actually worked for it. So respect is one thing that's gonna be a hallmark if I were a footballer.



Also, like we all know, footballers have gained world wide fame because of the way they are helping people. Ronaldo, Messi, Salah, Rashford, etc. are recognised by people and governments because of the developmental projects they're doing in countries and the lives of people.
And for some reason, I think life works this way; you keep helping others and you'll keep succeeding because their prayers will be with you always. You can side with me on this or not but that's actually what I think it is.

20191002_Fußball,_Männer,_UEFA_Champions_League,_RB_Leipzig_-_Olympique_Lyonnais_by_Stepro_StP_0042-2.jpg

Soccer aid foundations

License details

CONCLUSION

I feel the few things I've stated here actually sum everything up. Especially with the first point, I think when you have a role model who has really made it to the top and you want to be like him, you'll do everything possible to be successful like that person. So apparently, his determination, his goals, his lifestyle and everything you can think of becomes a part of you, simply because he's your icon. And I'm not sure everyone would take a "loser" as a role model in football so you'll likely succeed when you tread in the steps of such successful players. And also, learning bits and bits from other players will also be a plus for you and will even make you thrive or prosper more than the ones you're looking up to.

I'd like to thank @njaywan and #worldoffootball community for such a wonderful contest and we are all hoping for more from you.
Thanks for stopping by.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

I like how your entry was made, associating each quality with a great footballer you know of. Well done.

Another thing I'd look at is my behaviour as a professional, on and off the pitch. Players like Emre Mor or the famous Balotelli have suffered in their career because of their bad behaviour. They don't respect or regard anyone.

This is something people should take note of. Just because you play well doesn't mean you will get to the top.

Nice entry.

Thank you for your participation.

Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57916.39
ETH 2552.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42